Economics 310 Bennington: Finding Academic and Trade Resources

Finding Journal Titles

Ulrichsweb is a Periodicals Directory that provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types published worldwide: academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.

  • Try a search for "economics" to find the many periodical titles that exist. Limit your search on the left by selecting academic/ peer-reviewed to limit results to scholarly sources.

Once you find a journal you are intersted in reading, see if the Oviatt library carries that particular title by searching by the title of the journal in the library catalog.

Finding Academic Articles, Trade Publications, and Magazines

Find Articles by Subject: Business + Economics is a list of most useful library databases to find academic journal articles, trade journal articles, company profiles and industry information.

OneSearch on the library homepage can be a powerful if you know how to narrow the many search results you will retrieve. Take a look at the OneSearch FAQ's to learn more.

Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers

Pick a database recommended for your subject from Databases by Subject and then search using keywords.

To locate the full text of an article:

  • If full-text is available in the database, click on the link to full text (HTML or PDF).
  • If full-text isn't available in the database, click the Find Text button to see if we have access to the article in another database or in print in the library
  • If no Find Text button is available or you didn't find the article through our databases, search for the magazine or journal title using the Journals tab in the library catalog.
  • If the full text isn't available through the Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan for the article(s) that you need. However, you must allow about two weeks for this!

 

Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)

Image of American Journal of Philology
  • Authors are authorities in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
  • Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
  • Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
  • Articles use jargon of the discipline.

Types of Resources

Primary Sources

Primary sources are original materials on which other research is based. It includes documents such as poems, diaries, court records, interviews, surveys, fieldwork, and some newspaper articles. It also includes research results generated by experiments, which are published as journal articles in some fields of study.

They are also sets of data, such as census statistics, which have been tabulated, but not interpreted.

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources describe or analyze the primary sources.

Examples of secondary sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, and books and articles that interpret or review research works.

Tertiary Sources

Examples of tertiary sources includes indexes and abstracts which serve to locate secondary and primary sources. An index will provide a citation which fully identifies the work: author, title of article, title of journal or book, publisher and date of publication, For a journal it will include the volume, issue and pagination. An abstract is a summary of the work being cited. Many indexes and abstract are available now online.

Examples
Subject Area Primary Source Secondary Source Tertiary Source
Art Original artwork Article critiquing the piece of art Art Index
History Slave diary Book about the Underground Railroad American: History and Life
Literature Poem Book on a particular genre of poetry MLA
Computer Science Original research published as a journal article Introductory textbook on programming INSPEC
Sociology Indian Education Act of 1972 Journal article on Native American education ERIC

 

Viewing Article Results

OneSearch results are divided into two tabs: Articles, and Books & Media. 

The Articles tab allows you to filter results from online databases based on format, topics, subject area, date or language.  This section includes journal, magazine and newspaper articles, as well as book reviews, dissertations, and reports.

For additional resources, see Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.

Trade Publications

Image of Trade Publications

  • Authors are specialists in a certain field or industry.
  • Authors often mention sources, but rarely formally cite them in bibliographies.
  • Intended audience includes people in the industry or people seeking employment in the industry.
  • There is no peer-review process.
  • Articles give practical information to people in an industry.
  • Some illustrations are included, usually charts, graphs, etc.
  • Authors use jargon of the industry.