2. Recommended Databases for Students and Faculty in the College of Education and Related Disciplines
The CSUN library provides access to many online indexes, abstracts, and full-text databases.
Listed here are the primary databases of interest in the area of education (and a brief explanation of what they include):
- Academic Search Elite (on EbscoHost) -- much full-text
- Education Full Text (on WilsonWeb) -- indexes, abstracts, and selected full-text
- ERIC -- abstracts, with the exception of ERIC Digests and ERIC Documents (CSUN provides online full-text access [when available] to the most recent ten years of ERIC Documents)
- Expanded Academic ASAP (on Gale) -- much full-text
- PsycINFO (on EbscoHost) -- abstracts, links to full-text
- Social Services Abstracts (on CSA) -- indexes and abstracts only
- Social Sciences Full Text (on WilsonWeb) -- indexes and abstracts only
Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite (on EbscoHost) is an INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASE that includes coverage of many topics in the area of Education.
Topics indexed: Social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education...
- Sources indexed: 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals)
- Number of journals with full-text access: over 2,000
- Dates covered: 1985 to present
Go to Academic Search Elite
Education Full Text
Education Full Text (on WilsonWeb) is an online version of the print source, Education Index. Indexes articles from English language periodicals; indexes books in education from 1995-present.
Topics indexed: Athletics, physical education, classroom computers, prayer in public schools, comparative education, psychology, educational technology, religions, education, government funding, science and mathematics, language and linguistics, special education, literacy, teacher evaluation, multicultural/ethnic education, and vocational education.
- Sources indexed: information from over 550 sources
- Dates covered: indexing 1983-, abstracts 1994-, select full text 1996-
Go to Education Full Text
The ERIC (Educational Resources in Education) database contains annotated references to journal articles issued monthly in Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) and non-journal material issued monthly in Resources in Education (RIE).
There are three primary publications formats which can be searched in ERIC:
- Journals ("EJ"): NO full text in database itself; follow FindText link to locate full text, when available
- Documents ("ED"): SOME full-text in database; follow FindText link to locate full text, when available
- Digests ("ED"): ALL full text in database
Among the subjects indexed in ERIC: Adult career and vocational education, information and technology, assessment and evaluation, language and linguistics, disabilities and gifted education, reading and communication, educational management, teacher education, elementary and early childhood education, urban education, higher education, etc.
- Sources indexed: Over 1,000 journal titles, full text of more than 2,200 digests
- Number of records: Over 983,000
- Dates covered: 1966 to present, updated monthly
...are NOT journal articles, but can be:
Curriculum guides & lesson plans guides, research reports, bibliographies, issue papers, instructional materials, and test evaluation instruments.
Document records contain:
- ERIC ID Number ("ED" number)
- Publication Date
- Number of records: over 430,000
- CSUN Library owns all ERIC documents on microfiche from 1966 to the present
...are NOT journal articles, but are:
Short reports (1,000 - 1,500 words) on topics current interest in education and are targeted specifically for teachers, administrators, policymakers, and other practitioners. ERIC Digests are generally useful to the broad educational community and are designed to provide an overview of information on a given topic, plus references to items providing more detailed information. Eric Digests are reviewed by experts and content specialists in the field.
ERIC Digests records contain:
- ERIC ID Number ("ED" number)
- Publication Date (easy to overlook; appears immediately before the title sometimes the month is shown, but often just a two-digit year appears)
- Number of records: over 2,400
- ERIC Digests are always available in full text
The Oviatt Library offers online ERIC access via three separate database versions:
- ERIC from CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
- ERIC on EbscoHost
- ERIC , U.S. Department of Education
PsycINFO (on EbscoHost)
Provides citations with abstracts (follow FindText links to available full text) in psychology and behavioral sciences from the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO indexes: Psychology, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics....
- Sources indexed: 1,300 journals
- Dates covered: 1887 to present, plus books and book chapters from 1987 to present
Go to PsycInfo
Social Services Abstracts
Social Services (on CSA) : Provides citations with abstracts (NO full text) to current research focusing on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database also includes abstracts of dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Topics indexed: Community and mental health services, crisis intervention, the family and social welfare, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, professional issues in social work, social and health policy, social services in addiction, social work education, social work practice support groups/networks, violence, abuse, neglect and welfare services.
- Sources indexed: 1,600 journals
- Dates covered: 1980 - present
Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text (on WilsonWeb): Articles from 300 journals in the social sciences; indexing 1983-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
3. Journal Indexes
Journal indexes provide a subject approach to articles published in magazines, journals and other periodicals. The following indexes are all useful in researching education and its related topics. Available through the Library's homepage. Ask at the Reference Desk if you would like some assistance with using the computers.
- Education Full Text A primary source, along with ERIC, in education. Indexes articles published in approximately 550 education journals. Education Index is one of the many indexes included in the WilsonWeb database.
- ERIC Databases ERIC contains references to journal articles, and unpublished literature (such as research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and program evaluations). ERIC Documents (ED) on microfiche date back to 1966. Current Index to Journals in Education and Resources in Education are included in the ERIC databases. Contains information resources from the Educational Resources Information Center.
- PsycINFO, 1887-present Psychological Abstracts comprehensively indexes research articles in psychology and related fields.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers
Pick a database recommended for your subject from Find Articles by Subject and then search using keywords.
To locate the full text of an article:
- If full-text is available in the database, click on the link to full text (HTML or PDF).
- If full-text isn't available in the database, click the button to see if we have access to the article in another database or in print in the library
- If no Find Text button is available or you didn't find the article through our databases, search for the magazine or journal title using the Journals tab in the library catalog.
- If the full text isn't available through the Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan for the article(s) that you need. However, you must allow about two weeks for this!
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.
Searching for Articles
To search for articles in a specific subject, select a link on Find Articles by Subject. Use SimpleSearch to search multiple databases by checking boxes next to the databases you want to search, then entering your terms in the search form.
If you login to "My SimpleSearch Account" you can also build a Customized List of Databases to search. To return to or edit your custom list, click My Saved Databases after logging in.
To search an individual database click the link next to it to get to a page with a search form.
- Search up to 10 resources simultaneously.
- Use fewer terms for best results.
- For more advanced search options, click the database name to search it directly.
- If the database checkbox is inactive, you must search it directly.
Select a Database
- Use Databases A-Z to select a specific database or use Find Articles & Research Data to view databases listed by subject.
- Use SimpleSearch, provided at the top of each subject page, to search multiple databases in a subject area at one time. For example, the American Indian Studies Multisearch on the American Indian Studies subject page searches seven different databases at the same time.