Mary S. Woodley
- Should parents use Spyware on their children's computers?
- Should public high schools distribute condoms to students in sex ed classes or teach abstinence only?
- Should cyber bullies be prosecuted for damaging the reputation and mental health of innocent victims?
- Does the violence in video games and comic books negatively affect children?
- How does the emphasis on sex, drug and alcohol use on television programs affect teenagers?
- Should parents allow their children to engage in "sexting" and what, if any, disciplinary action could prevent it?
- Should we allowing hunting of wild animals to maintain an environmental balance?
Jacobson, George V. Cybersecurity, botnets, and cyberterrorism [electronic resource] Location: http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b3061168
Newton, David E. From global warming to Dolly the sheep : an encyclopedia of social issues in science and technology. Location: Floor3 Q175.5 .N49 2000 (IN LIBRARY )
Rogers, Vanessa. Cyberbullying [electronic resource] : activities to help children and teens to stay safe in a texting, twittering, social networking world. Location: http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b2958603
Know Your Assignment Requirements
Research Assignment and Instructor Expectations
Completed by due date (the Research Project Calculator can help you plan to finish on time)
Length of finished product
Sources selected and used
Organization and flow of ideas
- Select/define/refine/focus your idea
- 5 Ws (who, what, why, when, where) and how
- Determine if you will be able to cover all the important points of your topic in the space you have to fill
Access Databases from Off Campus
Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. To access the databases from off campus, click the name of the database. You will then see a screen asking you to log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).
An alternative is to download and use the campus Virtual Private Network. This allows you to use your computer as if it was on campus. The VPN also supports uploading files to your campus udrive.
Types of Resources
Primary sources are original materials on which other research is based. It includes documents such as poems, diaries, court records, interviews, surveys, fieldwork, and some newspaper articles. It also includes research results generated by experiments, which are published as journal articles in some fields of study.
They are also sets of data, such as census statistics, which have been tabulated, but not interpreted.
Secondary sources describe or analyze the primary sources.
Examples of secondary sources include: books, handbooks, textbooks, and articles that interpret or review research works. Encyclopedias maybe secondary as well as tertiary.
Examples of tertiary sources includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, indexes and abstracts which serve to locate secondary and primary sources. An index will provide a citation which fully identifies the work: author, title of article, title of journal or book, publisher and date of publication, For a journal it will include the volume, issue and pagination. An abstract is a summary of the work being cited. Many indexes and abstract are available now online.
Scholary Journals (Peer-Reviewed/Referred)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline
MLA Style and Annotated Bibliography
- MLA handbook for writers of research papers (print version)
- MLA Style - Quick Guide by Eric Garcia
- Sample MLA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- MLA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- MLA - Frequently Asked Questions
- EasyBib MLA style bibliography composer
An annotated bibliography is a list of sources such as books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to help the reader evaluate whether the work cited is relevant to a specific research topic or line of inquiry.