Researching Ethnic and Cultural Groups in Los Angeles: Reference Resources

Reference Sources

In addition to the titles listed below, to find reference books on specific ethnic/racial/cultural groups, perform a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the keywords for groups outlined above and the words encyclopedia* or dictionar* or handbook*. You can also limit to electronic reference books in the Advanced Search of the Library Catalog from the "location" pull down menu under "optional limits."

  • For example: mexican american* and (encyclopedia* or dictionar* or handbook*)

American Indian Studies Research Guide (By M. Woodley, CSUN Librarian)

Armenian Studies Research Guide (By L. Lampert, CSUN Librarian)

Asian American Studies Research Guide (By S. Eng, CSUN Librarian)

Chabrán, Richard and Rafael Chabrán (Eds.). (1996). The Latino encyclopedia. New York: Marshall Cavendish. Location: Ref Rm E184.S75 L357 1996

von Dassanowsky, Robert (Ed.). Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America. (2000). Detroit : Gale Group. Available online.

Haggerty, George E, et al. (Eds.). (2000). Gay histories and cultures: an encyclopedia. New York: Garland. Location: Ref Rm HQ75.13 .G37 2000

Jewish Studies Research Guide (By L. Lampert, CSUN Librarian)

Lehman, Jeffrey (Ed.). (1999). Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America. Primary documents. Detroit, MI : Gale Group. Location: Ref Rm E184.A1 G15 1999

Levinson, David. (1991-). Encyclopedia of world cultures. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall. Location: Floor2 (Ref) GN307 .E53 1991. Also available on the internet including a supplement.

Levinson, David. (1994). Ethnic relations: a cross-cultural encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO. Location: Ref Rm GN496 .L48 1994

Levinson, David and Melvin Ember (Eds.). (1996). Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology. New York: Henry Holt and Co. Location: Ref Rm GN307 .E52 1996

Pan African Studies Research Guide (By L. Lampert, CSUN Librarian)

Stein, Marc (Ed.). (2004). LBGT, encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America. New York : Charles Scribner's Sons: Thomson Gale.

Van Cleve, John V. (Ed.). (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness. New York : McGraw-Hill. Location: Ref Rm HV2365 .G35 1987

Women's Studies Research Guide (By L. Lampert, CSUN Librarian)

Zimmerman, Bonnie. (Ed.). (2000). Lesbian histories and cultures: an encyclopedia. New York: Garland Pub. Location: HQ75.5 .L4395 2000