Women's Studies 300: Guide to Library Research: Electronic Resources

Recommended Databases & Electronic Resources (e-Reference Books)

The following briefly list recommended Jewish Studies databases and electronic resources available through Oviatt Library Resources many of which are listed on Databases A-Z :

GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

InfoTrac One File is a full text database that includes the file Expanded Academic ASAP which indexes over 3500 general interest and scholarly journals, including titles in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, with full text articles in over 2000 journals. 1980-

Academic Search Elite. A large interdisciplinary index and full text database of over 1700 full journals. Journal articles go back to the early 1990s to the present date.

America History and Life. The premier periodical index for research in U.S. history. It provides citation and abstract indexing for 2400 scholarly journals, review articles and dissertations covering the culture and history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. It covers publication years 1950s to date. For world history since 1450, use Historical Abstracts.

Article First  Comprehensive "citation only" database to over 12,000 different scholarly and popular journals. A good database to cover a wide range of interdisciplinary social science and science journals.

Historical Abstracts. The premier index for searching modern world history. It provides citation and abstract indexing for over 2000 scholarly journals, books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations covering world history (exclusive of the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: late 1950s to date. For U.S. and Canadian history use America History and Life.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984 to date. A citation and abstract index to over 400 scholarly periodicals in the humanities, including religious studies. From 1974-1984 use the Humanities Index in REF AI 3 I59. For the years 1906-1974 use the International Index in REF A13 I57.

JSTOR. A growing archive of full text core scholarly journals, some going back to the 1850s. Includes selected journals in the areas of: African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology. Does not contain the latest three years of issues.

Lexis Nexis Academic. Provides full text searchable access to several thousand journals, newspapers, newsletters, newswires, and international publications. Coverage begins around the 1970s to the present. CSULB authentication required.

Project Muse. An online full text access to more than 160 scholarly journals, many in the humanities and social sciences.

Reader's Guide Retrospective. Covers popular magazines from 1890 through 1983. Useful to find contemporary accounts of any event in the 20th Century including religious topics.

Using the Gender and Women's Studies Subject Page to Find Databases and Resources

A starter list of recommended databases and resources for Jewish Studies can be found in on the Gender and Women's Studies subject page.

  • To search up to 10 databases simultaneously, check the boxes next to your selected databases, type your search term into the SimpleSearch form, and click GO. Note: Not all databases can be searched using the SimpleSearch interface. See SimpleSearch Database Search for more help.
  • You can search each database in its native interface by clicking its name. Searching within the native interface offers more search refinements and access to the databases' controlled vocabulary, when available.