Gerontology: a CSUN Oviatt Library Research Guide

Book jacket for Aging and Older Adulthood

Contents

Books  | Journals  Databases  | Websites Additional Guides | Librarian | 

Books

Browsing: There are several locations for books about aging. The Library of Congress call numbers starting RA 777.6 on Floor 3; on Floor 2 in BF724.55 and HQ1061 sections of the Oviatt Library. Additional locations possible are Reserve Book Room (Floor 4 East), Stored (ASRS East), and the Reference Room.

Searching:  Use the Library Catalog to find books on a topic. If you don't know a specific title, then start with a KEYWORD search.   The following links search the catalog with  SUBJECT HEADINGS

Handbooks/Directories/Encyclopedias

Here is a sampling of Health Sciences -related books either in the Reference Room of the Oviatt Library or available online. Electronic books have no call numbers and can be accessed either through the Library Catalog (requires a valid ID number if accessing from off-campus) or by the link on the web page.

  • Encyclopedia of Aging and the Elderly.  Reference Room HQ1061 R69
  • Encyclopedia of Aging
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library has the following online medical encyclopedias:Drugs and Controlled Substances: Information for Students 2003, Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning About Addictive Behavior 3v, 2003,  Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior 2nd ed., 4v, 2001, Encyclopedia of Public Health 4v, 2002 , Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer 2v, 2002, Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders 2v, 2002, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine 2nd ed., 5v, 2002 (Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine also in Reference Room ref RC41 G35)
    covers 905 disorders, 235 tests/procedures and 352 treatments. Has illustrations. ) ,  Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders 2v, 2003, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health 5v, 2002, Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery: A Guide for Patients and Caregivers 3v, 2004

Journals

To see if CSUN owns a journal, use the Library Catalog to find books on a topic. If you don't know a specific title, then start with a KEYWORD search.

To assist you in finding the journal articles, the CSUN list of Electronic Periodicals and bibliographic databases offer SFXlinks. Periodical databases now provide full text access possibilities where the database is limited to citation or abstract.
If CSUN does not own the journal title you need, you may request articles using the Interlibrary Loan service at http://illiad.csun.edu/.

The following are journals assigned the subject heading Aging --periodicals which CSUN owns either in paper or electronically. 

Databases

The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in thousands of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through Interlibrary Loan. To determine the availability of an article, most databases offer the FindText find text menu linkbutton.

Below are recommended databases for Gerontology . They can be accessed either from Databases A-Z, as well as from the Find Articles and Research Data Gerontology at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/Gerontology

Gerontology Multisearch
Search up to ten (10) Gerontology databases simultaneously. Note not all databases are "multisearchable."

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) more about this resource

Indexes over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from 1,600 journals; provides full-text access to many journals and other sources, 1937-

Oviatt Library Catalog more about this resource

CSUN University Library Catalog indexes books, periodicals, media and other materials held by the Oviatt Library.

PubMed more about this resource

Offers Medline (currently indexing over 5,000 journals), several molecular biology and chemical databases. Some full text journals and books, 1950-

PsycINFO (EBSCO) more about this resource

Indexes over 2,000 journals plus books and book chapters, 1987-present.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) more about this resource

Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-

InfoTrac OneFile (Thomson Gale) more about this resource

Indexes over 9,700 journals with full text to over 5,000 journals, 1980-

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega more about this resource

Cross-searching of Education Index with Full Text, General Science Index with Full Text, Humanities Abstracts with Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective and Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Index with Full Text, Business Index with Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) more about this resource

Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications, plus book chapters, 1952-

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) more about this resource

Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serial publications, 1980-

ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest) more about this resource

Indexing, abstracts to articles from more than 2,800 leading management publications, full text for over 1,800 titles, information on 60,000 companies, plus business dissertations, 1971-

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry (ProQuest) more about this resource

Indexes 750 full-text business periodicals and newsletters, 1971-

National Academies more about this resource

Free access to numerous publications of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.

Readers' Guide Full Text (Wilson) more about this resource

Full text of articles from some 215 journals (1994-), abstracts (1984-) and indexing of over 400 periodicals (1983-).

NetLibrary

Provides access to thousands of electronic books that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books.

WorldCat more about this resource

OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Contains over 62 million records for all types of materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

Cal State Union Catalog

The Catalog of the California State University Libraries.

Readers' Guide Retrospective (Wilson) more about this resource

Indexes 375 most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890-1982.

Websites

Additional Guides

Librarian

Marcia Henry is the Oviatt librarian who serves the CSUN Department of Health Science and Gerontology. If you need help finding information for a research paper, she can offer suggestions. To make an appointment, email marcia.henry @csun.edu or phone 818-677-3012. Marcia Henry's webpage is http://library.csun.edu/mhenry/

Marcia Henry created and maintains this webpage, so please report any problems to her. Links were last checked on 1/10/06.