Government Information on Crime and Justice: Reports/Online Publications

Reports and Online Publications

National Criminal Justice Reference Service's NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 200,000 publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Full text links to some documents included. (Tip: California State University, Northridge students and faculty should use the Library Catalog to determine whether the Oviatt Library has needed books and periodicals from this database which are not available free from this web site).

NCJRS Advanced Search searches the entire NCJRS Web site including more than 3,500 Full Text Publications, thousands of summaries of publications from the NCJRS Abstracts Database, related links, over 500 questions and answers from the NCJRS knowledge base, conferences, and Federal Justice Web pages including the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Office on Violence Against Women, National Institute of Corrections, Office of Community Oriented Policing Services, the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy, and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Office of State and Local Government Coordination and Preparedness/Office for Domestic Preparedness.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) provides full text access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, national strategy documents, and theses and reports from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies on topics relating to homeland security. (This digital library is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and hosted by the Center for Homeland Defense and Security at the Naval Postgraduate School).