Social Work Statistics: US National

Children and Families

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics

  • Health and safety, family structure, risky behavior, and more data in comprehensive annual report

Child abuse and neglect statistics Child Welfare Information Gateway, Department of Health and Human Services

Adoption statistics Child Welfare Information Gateway, Department of Health and Human Services

Child welfare and foster care statistics Child Welfare Information Gateway, Department of Health and Human Services

Runaway and homeless youth statistics, Family and Youth Services Bureau, Department of Health and Human Services

Child support enforcement statistics, Office of Child Support Enforcement, Department of Health and Human Services

National Center for Education Statistics Department of Education

  • Dropout rates, charter/magnet schools, school violence, and more, in K-12 and higher education

 

Criminal Justice

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics State University of New York Albany

Bureau of Justice Statistics offers a vast array of statistics about crime, crime victims, gangs, prisons, probation, etc. Includes links to crime data collected by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. See also the National Criminal Justice Reference Service.

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention

Statistical Briefing Book has statistical information on juvenile offending, victimization of juveniles, and involvement of youth in the juvenile justice system.

Elderly

AgingStats.Gov (Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics)

Administration on Aging's website includes Aging Statistics.

Office of Policy Social Security's old-age, supplemental security, and disability programs

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Research & Statistics

Health

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's website includes Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics.

Maternal and Child Health Bureau publishes Maternal and Child Health Status Chartbooks.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Data and Surveys

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data & Statistics

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Research & Statistics

Housing and Homelessness

HUD (US Department of Housing and Urban Development) Research

Homelessness Resource Exchange Annual Homeless Assessment Report and other information

Population in Emergency and Transitional Shelters, a special tabulation of data from Census 2000.

American Housing Survey

American Factfinder: Housing

Immigration and Asylum

Office of Refugee Resettlement provides data on Refugee Arrivals by country of origin and state of initial resettlement.

Executive Office for Immigration Review

Statistical Year Book has Immigration Court and Asylum statistics. See also the Department of Homeland Security's website on Immigration Statistics.

Asylum Statistics by Nationality

Poverty and Hunger

Indicators of Welfare Dependence.

Food and Nutrition Service has Nutrition Assistance Data & Statistics with statistics on food stamps, the WIC program, school meal programs, food distribution programs, and other food security issues.

Office of Family Assistance makes available data and reports about Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF).

More Information

Health and Human Services Data Council Gateway to Data and Statistics.

FedStats, the official gateway to statistics from over 100 United States federal agencies.

Statistical Reference Shelf (FedStats) links to the most popular published collections of federal statistics available online, including Statistical Abstract of the United States. (Current and historical years of Statistical Abstract of the United States are available online--this includes most years from 1878 to the present; see the Library Catalog record for print years of Statistical Abstract with the most recent in the Oviatt Library Reference Room under the call number ref HA 202).

Statistical Abstract: State Abstracts offers a guide to State-level statistical sources.

Related Resources (non-government sources that include government statistics):

Historical Statistics of the United States (Oviatt Library subscription). This digital (with print-format edition also available) from Cambridge University Press updates the Census Bureau's 1976 edition.

Subjects A to Z offers an easy way to start exploring this agency's massive collection of population and demographic information.

State and County QuickFacts makes it easy to find statistics about state, county, and cities with over 25,000 population.

Examples of Census Bureau links about specific populations:

Minority Links

Poverty

Age Data

Children

Health Insurance

Families and Living Arrangements

American Factfinder is an interactive database providing access to demographic and housing data from the 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses and American Community Survey(sample data collected in the years since Census 2000) . This includes data on population, race/ethnicity, age, language spoken at home, income, work disability, educational attainment, family size, marital status, and more. Oviatt Library offers two web pages with detailed instructions for using American Factfinder to find decennial census data. (Note: these instructions on using Fact Sheets and Detailed Data sets to find decennial census data can also be used with the American Community Survey data set to find more recent large city/county data.

Government Reference Sources: Crime and Justice

Government Reference Sources: Population

Finding Statistics & Federal Statistics Sites

USA.gov, the United States government's official web portal. You can search government sites (both federal and state) or browse by topic.