History 301: Library & Internet Resources: Periodicals

Locating Periodicals

Periodical Indexes/Databases

For the purposes of your assignment you will need to access the following databases:

America History & Life 1974-

America: History and Life covers more than 2100 journals, in approximately 40 languages, providing scholarly literature in history. The database also includes article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.


Historical Abstracts
1974-

Historical Abstracts is the most important index to scholarly literature on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada). It provides access to over 500,000 articles, books and disserations concerning the period from 1450 to the present day. Historical Abstracts covers all types of history: political, economic, social, religious, scientific, etc. It also covers the historiographical and methodological concerns of historians. Articles in Historical Abstracts derive from over 2,100 scholarly journals published in more than 50 languages since 1974.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a very important database that provides full-text articles in major scholarly journals.

ProQuest Newspapers

Full text for 500+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, and the Chicago Tribune, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Click the More Search Options link from the main search screen to reveal choices for limiting by Document Type, such as editorial, speech, and review.

Note: You may also find these databases to be helpful in working to complete your research assignment.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCOHost)

Provides full text for nearly 1,850 periodicals, including more than 1,250 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 3,237 periodicals in the collection. This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including communication studies. Allows limiting search results to peer-reviewed scholarly journals.

Book Review Digest Plus

Book Review Digest Plus indexes around periodicals which include reviews of English language fiction and nonfiction books. The database can be searched by subject, title, author, etc. The records do not indicate whether the review is favorable or unfavorable, but some records do include abstracts which may give you an idea of the opinion of the reviewer. It should be noted that the majority of the reviews indexed do not come from scholarly, academic journals. A complete list of the indexed journals is available from the link above.

General Reference Center Gold (Gale)

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images.


InfoTrac OneFile (Gale)

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access over 9,000 scholarly journals, and general interest news magazines and newspapers - over half contain full text and images. Browse subjects using the Subject Guide or search keywords using the Advanced Search. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Allows limiting search results to ("refereed") scholarly journals.


Databases by Subject

Databases by Subject allows you to: Determine which Library databases are recommended for Communication Studies and other subjects; link to librarians' guides to doing research in particular subject areas; search one to eight Library databases using a common interface; simultaneously search across different databases for interdisciplinary topics and/or resources in various formats (e.g., journals, books, newspapers, etc.); search for electronic journals by title; and create a personalized list of your favorite databases and e-journals.