The following topics are pointed out in the library session:
- Research Strategies: A Five-Step Guide -- tips for how to get started, find sources, write, and cite
- OneSearch - searches about 150 databases (at the present time the newspaper databases are NOT in OneSearch) in addition to the Oviatt Library catalog. Gives help identifying peer reviewed articles. Gives help citing APA but often the citation is incomplete. Can Save records, either temporarily to export into your personal database manager, OR you can login to your OneSearch account (same login as your CSUN portal login) and save it permanently on your electronic shelf.
- PubMed - be sure to always connect to Oviatt Library's PubMed link which is set up to offer the Find Text link which gives you access to the over 50,000 periodicals we offer our students http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib
PubMed is an index to the medical literature. It indexes over 5000 medical and allied health journals
- CINAHLPlus(EbscoHost) -has controlled vocabulary ( subject headings), has citation tools for help with APA style .
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) and General OneFile (Gale)- has controlled vocabulary ( subject headings), has citation tools for help with APA style .
- ABI Inform Complete (proquest)
Register for CSUN's Interlibrary Loan
Many of our databases as well as the Find Text menu (click More options, then save citation information) offer help in How to cite.
Library also has extensive help at Citing Your Sources
Registered students also can open a free Endnote web account
How to Cite Articles
- Determine which citation style to use; the two most commonly used at CSUN are MLA and APA. If your professor didn't specify, pick one and use it consistently.
- Check the sample style sheets (MLA or APA) to see what information the article citation should contain and how it should be formatted.
- Be sure to indicate where material you quoted directly or paraphrased came from.
For more information, see Citing Your Sources - Plagiarism.
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)