Library Research Resources for Public Health Issues- scroll down to find recommendations for Government Legislative websites
- Research Strategies: A Five-Step Guide -- tips for how to get started, find sources, write, and cite
- Research Project Calculator -- create a timeline for completing your assignment
- Handout -- latest version highlighting all library services, databases and website demionstrated in class session(s)
Accessing Library Resources from Off Campus
As a CSUN student you can access most databases from off campus, anywhere around the world. You just need to make sure you have your PORTAL username and password. When you click on a database from off campus, you will see a login screen. When you've entered the ID and password information, you'll be redirected to the database.
- Course Textbook: Essentials of Public Health by Bernard Turnock. Current volume on Reserve Floor 4 East Wing [Reserve Room and Reserve Desk]
- Library Catalog -- search the library catalog for books, journal titles, media and other materials
News, Current Events, General Information
- OneSearch - indexes 150 databases
- Academic Search Premier -- Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- Gale Health Reference Center -- search over 900 health and allied health journals with full text articles in 686 journals
Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
LexisNexis -- full-text news database
MedlinePlus Health News -- up-to-date health information news from the National Institutes of Health
ProQuest Newspapers -- over 500 US and international newspapers full-text
- World Health Organization (WHO) -- responsible for providing leadership on global health matters within the United Nations
Scholarly Journals and Scientific Information
- CINAHL Plus -- scholarly journals from nursing, medicine, and consumer health
- PubMed -- scholarly and research journal articles in biochemistry, medicine and related fields
- ScienceDirect -- search full-text journals published by Elsevier
- Wiley Online Library -- search full-text journals published by Wiley
- CQ Researcher -- explores in depth hot issues in the news
- Offical California Legislative Information gives status and history of bills at http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billSearchClient.xhtml
- California State assembly at http://assembly.ca.gov/assemblymembers
- California Senate at http://senate.ca.gov/
- Legislation in other states, check out the National conference of States Legislatures (NCSL) at http://www.ncsl.org/about-us/ncslservice/state-legislative-websites-directory.aspx
- CSUN Find Resources: Government Publications at http://library.csun.edu/GovernmentPublications
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (Reference Room and 2nd floor - BF76.7 .P83 2010)
- APA Online Resources
OneSearch allows you to search, at this time, 150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog. Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet. OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database.
OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic. You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Citing Archival Materials in APA
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)
Library Catalog Basic Search
Starting from the Library Catalog Basic Search screen you can search by Keyword, Title, Author, or Subject by selecting the radio buttons and typing search words in the text box.
The default Limits setting will search the entire collection. You may also limit your search to smaller sub-collections: Ejournals (electronic periodicals--not specific articles), Ebooks, NCOD (National Center on Deafness), TCC (Teacher Curriculum Center), Periodicals/Serials (not specific articles), Videos, Reference Room, Special Collections, or Sound Recordings by selecting a collection from the drop-down menu.
Searching for a specific Item
Select an Author or Title search if you know the author (last name, first name) or at least the first few words of the title.
Searching for Items by Topic
There are two ways to search the online catalog for resources on a topic: by Keyword or by Subject.
- A Basic Keyword search will simultaneously look for words in titles of materials, in subject headings, and in notes fields.
- A Subject search will locate materials by Library of Congress Subject Headings, which is a controlled vocabulary or standard list of subject terms. The Oviatt Library assigns Library of Congress Subject Headings to all items listed in the online catalog.
- Another way to find the Library of Congress Subject Heading for your topic is to search the catalog by Keyword, display the record for a relevant title, and select one or more of the Subjects listed for that record.
Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers
Pick a database recommended for your subject from Databases by Subject and then search using keywords.
To locate the full text of an article:
- If full-text is available in the database, click on the link to full text (HTML or PDF).
- If full-text isn't available in the database, click the button to see if we have access to the article in another database or in print in the library
- If no Find Text button is available or you didn't find the article through our databases, search for the magazine or journal title using the Journals tab in the library catalog.
- If the full text isn't available through the Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan for the article(s) that you need. However, you must allow about two weeks for this!
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.