- Research Strategies: A Five-Step Guide -- tips for how to get started, find sources, write, and cite
- Use the information available on the Data 2010 Healthy People 2012 database at http://wonder.cdc.gov/data2010
Goals of this library session
- Learn how to search the database(s) and look for peer reviewed credible articles.
Note: Your assignment advises utilize addional resources such as peer reviewed journal articles to answer Question 3 on your assignment: "Please list at least two factors contributing to the damaging behavior within your target group. If you are unable to locate factors specific to the target group you may list more general factors"
- Catalog record for Health People 2010
- Library Catalog -- search the library catalog for books, journal titles, media and other materials
Search the library's databases to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles.
Use Find Text to identify if CSUN has access, if NOT can request on Interlibrary Loan
News, Current Events, General Information
- Healthy People website offers its own current news at http://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/Connect/Default.aspx
- MedlinePlus Health News -- up-to-date health information from the National Library of Medicine
- Newspaper resources identified on Find Articles by Subject select News and Current Issues at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/categories/news-current-issues
- Academic Search Elite -- a general/multi-subject database useful for finding general, non-scientific articles but also includes a lot of scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles
- Gale Health Reference Center -- search over 900 health and allied health journals with full text articles in 686 journals
Scholarly Journals and Scientific Information
- CINAHL Plus -- scholarly journals from nursing, medicine, and consumer health
- GoogleScholar -- scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines
- PsycINFO - indexes psychology literature
- PubMed -- indexes over 5000 scholarly and research journal articles in medicine, allied health, chemistry, and more. Many links to open access (free articles)
- ScienceDirect -- search full-text journals published by Elsevier
- see additional resources on Find Articles by Subject select Health Sciences + Nursing at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/health-sciences-nursing
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.
Citation Formatting Tools
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association.
- APA Style Resources