HSCI 436: Health Concerns of Adolescents: Overview

Professor Gretta Madjzoob (Fall 2014), Robin Yeager-Edmonds (Fall 2013); Health Sciences Librarian Marcia Henry

Welcome Health Science 436!

The Goals of this Library session are:

  • Know your assignment   - write a lesson plan with a minimum of 4 peer reviewed articles cited APA 6th
  • Learn how to create a search strategy -view Oviatt's  latest video Research Therapy:Search Strategies  at:

Topics

alcohol abuse, substance use, STD's, bullying, mental health, ADHD, self-esteem, eating disorders. 

  • Learn about Find Text Find text image
  • Learn how to Cite your sources
  • Learn how to  choose appropriate databases for your topic

Databases

  • PubMed (related to MEDLINE)

 

Medline is also available to CSUN throughthe ISI Web of Knowledge and the Ovid interfaces.

 

Indexes over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from 1,600 journals; provides full-text access to many journals and other sources, 1937-

Provides access to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases

 

Learn how to find databases

Formatting Citations

This tab contains citation guidelines and examples in both APA and MLA style formats, along with links to other styles and resources on citation styles. The style you should use is usually determined by the discipline or course in which you are working. Ask your instructor what style s/he requires or recommends.

Why Cite Sources? Avoiding plagiarism is the most obvious reason; it also helps you back up your arguments with credible evidence and allows others to track down the same resources.

Before turning in your paper, check for these common citation errors:

  • Is the list of sources alphabetized?
  • Are titles capitalized and/or underlined as required?
  • Is spacing and indenting correct?
  • Is proper punctuation used?

Citing your sources EndNote Web

  • Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites.  Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.

Registration is free while you are a student.  First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians  for help, Endnote Web will  also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:

http://www.myendnoteweb.com

on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.

Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb

Endnote Web technical support's telephone number  is (800)336-4474 

    (800)336-4474    

 Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time) Cite While You Write for Microsoft Word

Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)

Image of American Journal of Philology
  • Authors are authorities in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
  • Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
  • Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
  • Articles use jargon of the discipline.

FindText Menu Example Have Online Several Databases

FindTextMenu2012 example

OneSearch

OneSearch allows you to search, at this time,  150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog.   Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet.  OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database. 

OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic.   You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.

Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video: