HSCI437:Strategies for Making Health Decisions

Professor Jessica King

Topics

  • Hispanic Females (25-31)
    Hispanic Female Children
    Asian American Women
    Middle Eastern Women
    African America living in Southern US
    African American Women (Young Adults)
    Native American Adults

Assignment

I.      Who is the Target Group (25 points)
a.      Identify a cultural/ethnic group
i.      Provide current statistics relating to cultural/ethnic group
1.      General Statistics
2.      Specific statistics related to health and healthcare
b.      Describe the general belief of this cultural/ethnic group in terms of healthcare and medicine
c.      Describe specific health related issues that are prevalent within in this cultural/ethnic group

II.     What are their problems/barriers to health care? (20 points)
a.      Identify and describe at least five barriers or problems preventing the target group from engaging in or receiving healthcare. Please utilize at least three peer reviewed articles to support your descriptions.

III.    What is being done about the presented problems/barriers? (20 points)
a.      Identify and describe at least 2 marketing strategies, interventions, programs that are focused on resolving these issues.  If no programs are currently in place, please identify and describe prior programs and discuss why they are no longer in place.

IV.     Who is involved in servicing this target groups needs? (20 points)
a.      Identify at least 2 key persons, advocates, organizations, congressmen, politicians, coalitions, etc. that are focused on resolving these issues and describe what actions they are taking or are trying to put in place.  This must be separate from the above section.

V.      Recommendations (25 points)
a.      What recommendations do you have in regards to resolving these issues and improving health care for this target group or improving health communication and promotion for this target group?

VI.     Format of Paper (15 points)
a.      In addition, please make sure to follow these guidelines in writing your paper:
i.      Your paper should include headings reflecting each of the required elements of this paper.
ii.     Your paper should conform to current APA style guidelines.
iii.    Your paper should be eight to ten pages in length, double spaced, and have a font size of 12.
iv.     Your paper should cite at least seven peer-reviewed articles.
v.      Make sure you cite every source you use in your paper-give credit where credit is due!
vi.     Include a reference list at the end of your paper.

Websites

  1. African American Health at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/africanamericanhealth.html
  2. Hispanic American Health
  3. Asian American Health
  4. Native American Health

 

Databases

OneSearch

OneSearch allows you to search, at this time,  150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog.   Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet.  OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database. 

OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic.   You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.

Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:

What is a Scholarly Article?

Unsure about what it means when an article is scholarly? This video will explain:

Evaluating Websites

If you are using a website as a source for your paper, make sure it is a reliable source. Don't know what that means? Ask yourself these questions to determine if the website is authoritative, unbiased, current, and accurate:

 Who is the author and what makes she or he qualified to write on this topic? Who is publishing/hosting this site and are they reputable? Unbiased: Does the author or publisher have a financial or ideological stake in presenting only certain facts? What is the purpose of this site? Current: When was this information published or last updated? Could there be newer information? Accurate: Where is the author getting his/her information from? Can you verify the information in another source?

This video will explain more:

Citing your sources EndNote Web

  • Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites.  Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.

Registration is free while you are a student.  First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians  for help, Endnote Web will  also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:

http://www.myendnoteweb.com

on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.

Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb

Endnote Web technical support's telephone number  is (800)336-4474 

    (800)336-4474    

 Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time) Cite While You Write for Microsoft Word

Finding Books in the Library Catalog

Use the Catalog search box located in the center of the library's homepage to search for books. To search for books on your topic, use the default Keyword search option and enter your search terms in the For box.

Catalog search box on homepage

If you have a specific book or author in mind, before you enter your search terms in the For box, change the Search type from Keyword to:

  • Title - to look for a specific book.
  • Author - to look for books by a specific author.

 To look for ebooks only, select Ebooks in the Limits field.