Welcome to Oviatt Library. The goals of this library session are:
Feel comfortable using:
- Find Articles By Subject Health Sciences + Nursing at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/health-sciences-nursing
PubMed at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib
- Explained MeSH Medical Subject headings and subheadings showed students the MESH tree for Epidemiological methods at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh?term=epidemiologic%20methods
- pointed out the Search details box
- the PubMed Tutorials to learn more subject searching
- pointed out on library computer stations (over 300 computers) there was a Capture link to capture bibliographic information to send to EndNoteWeb. Capture is a plugin the Internet Explorer tool bar on every machine
- pointed ut CINAHL headings and how CINAHL subject headings word differently than PubMed's MeSH headings.
- pointed out the Export button to easily export bibliographic information to EndNoteWeb
- Know how to sign up for a free account with EndNote Web, a citation manager software. Review tutorials for EndNoteWeb at http://library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Assignment: Create a bibliography in APA style with 2 recent peer reviewed articles found by using PubMed or CINAHLPlus on a topic of your choice. Be prepared to bring the bibliography to your next class.
- This search box, OneSearch, will search over 150 databases simultaneously, including the library catalog.
- Use the “Library Catalog” link on library homepage searches the library’s catalog for books, dvds/videos, music and other things. To start, type your topic in the box and choose “Keyword” from the search type drop-down box.
“Journals” to look up magazines, newspapers and journals we have in the library or online. Link to the Ulrich’s Directory of Periodicals to identify if a journal is scholarly, peer reviewed, referred.
- The “Reserves” tab allows you to search for course reserves by Instructor or course number.
- Research Strategies: Learn the basics of doing library research here. Identify key words, subject headings appropriate to your topic; learn about boolean operators (AND, OR ), truncation symbols, identify scholarly peer reviewed articles
- Find Articles by Subject: Browse our online databases to find individual articles by subject area. Look for Find Articles by Subject Health Sciences + Nursing
- Databases A-Z: If you already know the article database you’re looking for, click here to get an A-Z list of all our databases.
- Citing Your Sources: See how to cite your research in APA format. Sign up for Endnote Web.
- Ask A Librarian: Various ways to get help: at the reference desk, call, email, text us or learn how to chat with a librarian online 24/7
- InterLibrary Loan - request books and articles from other libraries if Oviatt Library does NOT have item.
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association.
- APA Style Resources
Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers
Pick a database recommended for your subject from Find Articles by Subject and then search using keywords.
To locate the full text of an article:
- If full-text is available in the database, click on the link to full text (HTML or PDF).
- If full-text isn't available in the database, click the button to see if we have access to the article in another database or in print in the library
- If no Find Text button is available or you didn't find the article through our databases, search for the magazine or journal title using the Journals tab in the library catalog.
- If the full text isn't available through the Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan for the article(s) that you need. However, you must allow about two weeks for this!
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.
Check for Full Text Using Find Text
If the article isn't available full text in the database you are searching, click the button to see if we have access to the full text through another database or in print. A new page opens that will have one or more of the following links:
- Full text available via [database name]: Click to access the full-text online. If the link takes you to a publication-level page, you can navigate to the article by first choosing the correct year, then the correct month or volume number, then the issue, and then selecting the article from the displayed table of contents.
- We have this. Check availability in CSU Northridge Catalog: We have the article in print. Click to view the catalog record for the journal or magazine. You'll need to note the call number and then go to the fourth floor to get the article.
- Request document via Interlibrary Loan: We do not have the article online or in print. You can request the article via interlibrary loan (takes approximately ten working days).
For more information, see About Find Text.
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)