Assignment for HSCI 511 is due October 2, 2014. Assignment is worth 10 points of your grade.
You may be wondering, “What does the library have to do with health administration?” Well, what if I told you that this assignment will prepare for future assignments in this classes and in other classes in your graduate program? In healthcare you will be constantly investigating. For instance, you might be looking for innovative strategies; maybe looking back at historical documents; or maybe checking out census reports to back up your business plan. This “investigation” is called research. In this teaching lab, our Health Sciences Librarian, Mrs. Marcia Henry, will provide an overview of the information resources available through Oviatt Library and how to access them; she will teach you how to begin a search and use keywords to refine your search; and show you how to give credit where credit is due by using the APA Citation Style (to avoid literary theft!). "
To receive full credit for this assignment you must attend the full library session with the class and correctly complete the following exercise.
Chapter 2 of Olden and Chapter 5 of Goldsmith provide an overview of the roles of managers, the traditional and current perspectives of the work of managers, and the knowledge, skills, and attitudes of successful managers. In recent years the role of cultural competence in successful management has been extensively researched and a large body of literature related to cultural competence is available.
Complete the following:
1. (2 points) Locate FOUR (4) references on cultural competence in the health management and/or health sciences databases.
a. TWO (2) of the references must come from peer-reviewed articles (A scholarly and/or refereed article is one published in a periodical that requires blind review and approval of the articles prior to publication).
b. ONE (1) of the references must come from a book.
c. ONE (1) of the references can come from a source of your own choosing
2. (3 points) Cite your sources on a references page, and use the American Psychological Association (APA) style to cite the reference page. The American Psychological Association website provides a tutorial and guidance on using the APA style of citation, and web resources for citation will be covered in the lab session. There are also samples posted on Moodle. Remember that different sources are referenced differently. For instance, books are referenced in a way that’s different from a website or a newspaper article.
Goals of the Library Sessions:
- Research Strategies: A Five-Step Guide -- tips for how to get started, find sources, write, and cite
OneSearch - searches up about 150 of our library databases including the Library Catalog. The records retrieved from the Library Catalog can be viewed by clicking on the Books, Media tab
- Databases by Subject to identify useful databases. Most databases offer Find Text link for each record which helps you identify if CSUN owns the item. If CSUN does not own the item, it will offer a link to the ILL loan service. Select Databases by Subject Health Sciences+Nursing at http://library.calstate.edu/northridge/databases/subject/health-sciences-nursing
- PubMed - includes Medline, MedlinePlus, and several other databases. Learn about MeSH subject headings, and creating a NCBI account .Be sure to use CSUN's link which offers http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib
- CINAHLPlus(EbscoHost) -has controlled vocabulary ( subject headings), has citation tools for help with APA style .
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) and General OneFile (Gale)- has controlled vocabulary ( subject headings), has citation tools for help with APA style .
- ABI Inform (Proquest) - has several trade and peer reviewed journals covering health administrations Proquest also help with citing APA style,
- Library Catalog to find books and journals on your topic. Using the Journals tab, typing in the name of the journal, is a very efficient way to identify if Oviatt Library has access to the journal's fulltext articles.
Register for CSUN's Interlibrary Loan
Many of our databases as well as the Find Text menu (click More options, then save citation information) offer help in How to cite.
Library also has extensive help at Citing Your Sources
Registered students also can open a free Endnote web (now called EndNOte Basic) account
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.
Research Therapy Series
The purpose of the Research Therapy videos is to provide students with tips and tricks that librarians think students might find helpful throughout the semester. Some of the topics include: how to find books, evaluating websites, using Google Scholar and citing your sources.
For more help: How to embed a YouTube video in Moodle.
For a list of tutorials and guides by topic: How-To Guides & Tutorials
OneSearch allows you to search, at this time, 150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog. Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet. OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database.
OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic. You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association.
- APA Style Resources
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)