Library Catalog --
Consider searching by keywords as well as subject headings such as Health Education, Health Promotion. Some possible helpful books and a journal are:
- Gilbert, G. G., Sawyer, R. G., & McNeill, B. (2011). Health education: Creating strategies for school and community health. Sudbury, Mass: Jones and Bartlett Publishers. Map It link in full catalog record gives Floor #, Stack #, and Call number, e.g. RA440.5 .G48 2011 is shelved on Floor 3, Stack 41 We will also get this as an e-book- you can review the table of contents in Google books
- American Journal of Public Health - journal available in print and online
- PubMed - includes Medline and is freely available on the Internet but prefer to use link from Oviatt Library's web pages. In addition to indexing over 5000 medical journals, there are links into freely available Consumer Health (MedlinePlus) resources, several genetic, chemical, full text jurnal and full text book resources. Be sure to use CSUN's link to PubMed which is http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib This URL offers you the Find text icon .
PubMed indexes age groups so you can focus your research, e.g.
Adolescent A person 13 to 18 years of age
- Health Reference Center (Gale) --Indexes over 900 health and allied health journals with full text articles in 686 journals, 1980- also indexes newspapers, books, multimedia so can be a very good resources for finding information on particular places. This database provides help with Citing APA -look for Citation tools in the full record.
- EbscoHost databases - including CINAHLPlus(Nursing) and ERIC (Education)
- CINAHLPlus with Full Text (Nursing and Allied Health Literature) -- Indexes nursing literature with some fulltext from 1937- present . Also offers cited references searching , the CINAHL subject headings,
Los Angeles Area
- San Fernando Valley Statistics and Facts
- Los Angeles Department of Health Services
- Los Angeles County Public Health Vital Statistics reports
- Leading Causes of Death and premature death Mortality in Los Angeles County
- Los Angeles County zip code databook. - more current information is now provided online by Healthy City Healthy City has various geographic lookups (from ZIP CODES to school districts) at http://www.healthycity.org/
- United Way of Los Angeles offers various social reports that may be helpful at http://www.unitedwayla.org/resources/research-reports/social-reports/
- Healthy City a very large online source of community resource information
and demographic,economic, and health data for LA County. Its URL is http://www.healthycity.org/
- UCLA Center for Health Policy Research - browse by subject its publications at http://healthpolicy.ucla.edu/publications/browsepubs/Pages/default.aspx
- California Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development Looks also for its California Health Care Atlas
OneSearch allows you to search, at this time, 150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog. Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet. OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database.
OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic. You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association.
- APA Style Resources
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)