Assignment is to choose a cultural or ethnic group, research the group thoroughly including visits to where you might find them, and write a grant proposal with a health intervention targeting a high risk health issue. The grant must reflect research on the issue as well as the target group, with all the nuances they can find that will impact the outcome.
Cultures: Chinese, Korean Americans, Vietnamese, Armenian, French, Iranians or Persians, Japanese Americans,Native American Indians, German, Brazil, Palestinian, Arab Americans, India
Remember: use truncation to find country as well as ethnicitity, e.g. vietnam*, Palestin*, Iran*, Japan* etc. Databases may index for country of origin
Goals of the library session are to:
- identify and learn how to use databases and websites that can help you find scholarly articles and authoritative data on your culture
- identify the subject heading(s) each database uses for your cultural group. Understand the use of keyword searching, full text searching and subject headings.
- Library catalog -- Advanced search helps you with Boolean operators and searching different parts of the record. We have many transcultural nursing or transcultural medical care books that address working with different cultures. For example Purnell, Larry D.; Paulanka, Betty J.. (2008). Transcultural Health Care: A Culturally Competent Approach. F A Davis Company. Retrieved 14 September 2013, from <http://www.myilibrary.com?ID=182823> is available online at http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b2473992 and offers many cultures: Peoples of Arab, Chinese, French, Iranian, German, and many more --- outstanding resource and you can read this from home!!!
- St. Hill. P. F., Lipson, J. G., & Meleis, A. I. (2003). Caring for women cross-culturally. Philadelphia: F.A. Davis. Link into catalog is
- http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b1895690 and shows this books is shelved on Floor 3, Stack 49 RT86.54 .C365 2003
- or the book Spector, R. E. (2004). Cultural diversity in health & illness. Upper Saddle River, N.J: Pearson Prentice Hall. Link into the catalog record http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b1872511 to see it on Reserve (Floor 4 East wing) RA418.5.T73 S64 2004
- PubMed (NCBI) use CSUN's link at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib Use MeSH to identify the closest subject heading(s) for your culture. For example, the subject heading with India ethnology (will search Asian Indians) or Pakistan ethnology, Myanmar ethnology (is the subject heading for Burmese).... A related National Library of Medicine database which is also very helpful is MEDLINEPlus
- CINAHLPlus (Ebsco) - offers Cited references
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) - offers help with how to Cite -look for Citation tools on the right of full record
- Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest)
- American Fact Finder -- find statistics from the U.S. Census . Look for Fact sheets, can do a zipcode or city lookup.
- Rand California
- Health Atlas for the City of Los Angeles
OneSearch - quick lookup in several disciplines -search over 250 databases simultaneously, save records, works well with EndNote, view Saved record, Export, use pull down menu, and select EndNote Web
Additional Find Articles by Subject - work usually the Health Sciences and Nursing
- Health Sciences at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/health-sciences-nursing
- San Fernando Valley Local Health Statistics and facts at http://library.csun.edu/Guides/GovPubs-SFValley/SFVhealth
Social Reports from United Way
- Asians at http://unitedwayla.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/diversefaceofAsianandPacific_Feb2004.pdf
- Latino scorecard at http://unitedwayla.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/LatinoScorecardFull_Oct2003.pdf
- multiethnic children scorecard at
- MedlinePlus offers several web pages for various ethnic and minority groups such as
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)
OneSearch allows you to search, at this time, 150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog. Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet. OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database.
OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic. You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video: