The goals of the library sessions are:
- Learn How to do Library and Internet research: determine information need, choose best resources, develop a search strategy, understand keyword and subject searching, how to use boolean operators and truncation symbols, how to cite sources, and more.
- Learn how to use the Library Catalog to find books and journals( Periodicals).
Ways to find peer reviewed articles using Library databases
- PubMed - in addition to indexing almost 5000 medical journals, there are links into freely availble Consumer Health (MedlinePlus) resources, several genetic, chemical, full text jurnal and full text book resources. Be sure to use CSUN's link to PubMed which is http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib This URL offers you the Find text icon which helps you identify if CSUN subscribes to the journal.
- Cinahl (Cumulative Index to Nursing Literature) , Academic Search Elite both on EbscoHost--offers help in citing under Print, Email
- Health Reference Center -offers help with citing using Citation tools
- Proquest newspapers, Lexis Nexis, and Factiva databases for recent news articles
OneSearch allows you to search 150 databases plus the Library catalog simultaneously, and offers you an electronic shelf to save records from diverse databases using the same login you use for your CSUN email account.
Review subject headings different databases assign
Use Find text to identify if CSUN owns the item
- Learn about the link most of our databases offer
- Register for CSUN's Interlibrary Loan for items our library does NOT have.
- Learn how to get help to Cite Sources
Help is available for APA style in the EbscoHost, Thomson Gale Infotrac, Proquest, CSA databases as well as on the Find Text menus. In Find text remember to click on More Options -Click Save Citation Information, and use pull down menu to select APA, click go. Copy and paste the APA style for the record you were viewing. Register for Endnote Web to create your own databases of references you are using for your classes' research. Read about Endnote web at http://library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association.
- APA Style Resources
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.