Books on the Shelf
Books are arranged using the Library of Congress Classification system. Listed below are some important history classes and subclasses. These books are located on the second floor of the library.
Locating Book Reviews
The following databases are useful for locating book reviews. Enter the author and/or title of the book as keywords and follow any of the specific instructions listed under each database:
- Frechette on Heather, 'The Restoration of Rome: Barbarian Popes and Imperial Pretenders'
- Speece on Kumar, 'Indigo Plantations and Science in Colonial India'
- McGregor on Schaefer and Wardaya, '1965: Indonesia and the World, Indonesia Dan Dunia'
Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Check the box to limit search to book reviews.
Simply type in the title of the book and the author’s last name. When the results page come up make sure to limit to book reviews under the format section. I would choose a review from a known history journal.
Library Catalog Basic Search
Starting from the Library Catalog Basic Search screen you can search by Keyword, Title, Author, or Subject by selecting the radio buttons and typing search words in the text box.
The default Limits setting will search the entire collection. You may also limit your search to smaller sub-collections: Ejournals (electronic periodicals--not specific articles), Ebooks, NCOD (National Center on Deafness), TCC (Teacher Curriculum Center), Periodicals/Serials (not specific articles), Videos, Reference Room, Special Collections, or Sound Recordings by selecting a collection from the drop-down menu.
Searching for a specific Item
Select an Author or Title search if you know the author (last name, first name) or at least the first few words of the title.
Searching for Items by Topic
There are two ways to search the online catalog for resources on a topic: by Keyword or by Subject.
- A Basic Keyword search will simultaneously look for words in titles of materials, in subject headings, and in notes fields.
- A Subject search will locate materials by Library of Congress Subject Headings, which is a controlled vocabulary or standard list of subject terms. The Oviatt Library assigns Library of Congress Subject Headings to all items listed in the online catalog.
- Another way to find the Library of Congress Subject Heading for your topic is to search the catalog by Keyword, display the record for a relevant title, and select one or more of the Subjects listed for that record.
Library Catalog Advanced Search
For an Advanced search, select the Advanced Catalog Search link on the homepage. The Advanced search allows you to search by keyword in up to four separate fields, and optionally limit your search by language, material type, location, collection, publisher, or publication date.
To start your search:
- Select the field you want to search (Author, Title, Subject, Note, or "any field") from the first drop-down menu.
- Type keyword(s) in the adjacent text box. Two or more words entered together in one search box will retrieve records containing that exact phrase, unless there is no exact match. If there is no exact match for the phrase entered, the system will retrieve records contain all search terms entered, wherever they are in the record.
- (OPTIONAL) For a combined search, enter additional keywords into separate search boxes and choose the appropriate Boolean operators (and, or, and not) from the pull-down menu.