Facts and Statistics
The following are from government and private sources of facts and statistics beyond journals and books, for finding information to support research papers and presentations.
Factual Information: Selected Sources
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Electronic encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.)
- SAGE Knowledge (Electronic encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences and education.)
- Encyclopedia Britannica (Free website.)
- Legal Research Sources (Links to sources of legislative, judicial, and administrative law, including periodical databases.)
- NewsBank Special Reports (Focus on topics of current interest, including current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. Updated daily.)
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) (Features "viewpoint articles" (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to web sites.)
- CQ Researcher (Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.)
- Public Records Searching
- Public Opinion Polls and Surveys
- RefDesk.com--Reference, Facts, News
- USA.gov (The United States government's official web portal. Also provides links to relevant state and local government websites.)
Statistical Data: Selected Sources
- American Factfinder (Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census. Use their tutorials to learn more.)
- 2010 Census (Quick access and description of the latest Census of Population and Housing.)
- PolicyMap (Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to visualize data about communities.)
- Disability: U.S. Census Bureau
- Foreign Born: U.S. Census Bureau
- Immigration Statistics: Dept. of Homeland Security
- Language Use: U.S. Census Bureau (Census data on languages spoken in the United States)
- Same Sex Couples: U.S. Census Bureau
- San Fernando Valley Statistics & Facts
- Finding Statistics (Oviatt Library guide to finding statistics by topic, from various government agencies, etc.)
The following sources can help you locate biographical information on journalists, past and present.
- Encyclopedia of American Journalism (print)
- For books by or about specific people, search the Library Catalog by the name of the person as an author or subject (last name, first name). To search for collections of biographies by type of person or profession, search the Library Catalog using the keyword search, for example: journalists and biography, television news anchors
- The LexisNexis Academic "Search by Subject or Topic: Biographical Information" search is useful to locate information about people in business, industry, politics, etc. Search the more than one of the listed sources.
- Biography Index Past and Present Comprehensive biographical resource indexing articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Includes over a million article and book citations.
- Biography.com Free website searchable by name, profession, etc.