History of the American Media: News

Databases for Locating Newspaper Articles

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
A digital archive of more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers
Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
Chicago Defender (ProQuest), 1910-1975
Full text access to an influential African American newspaper. Founded in 1905, by the outbreak of the First World War, it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress), 1836-1922
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Daily News (Los Angeles)
The Daily News is the major newspaper of the San Fernando Valley. The Oviatt Library subscribes to the Daily News online from 1989 to present in various databases, and in microfilm from 1981 to present. Under it's former titles: Van Nuys News and Valley Green Sheet, the Library has it on microfilm from 1911-1976 and as the Valley News and Greensheet from 1976-1981.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Full text articles from more than 270 ethnic, minority and native press publications, including newspapers, magazines and journals, 1960 to present. Can be searched simultaneously with ProQuest Newsstand and ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Hispanic American Newspapers
Digital archive of Spanish-language and some bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the U.S. 1808-1980. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
University of Arizona Libraries' digital collection of 20 significant Mexican and Mexican American publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database containing news, legal, biographical, and business information from over 12,000 publications. Click on Easy Search (default) or Advanced Search from the General Searching toolbar, or News from the toolbar to search newspapers and other sources of news. Note: Easy Search does not use Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) operators and searches large groups of the most popular news sources, such as newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. The News "All News" search option allows Boolean logic, searching within specific parts of a document (headline and lead paragraph, author/byline, etc.), and the ability to search more specific sources, such as "U.S. Newspapers and Wires," "Major World Publications," "Blogs," TV and radio news "broadcast transcripts," and "newswires." In addition, the News search, allows easy limits to reviews, editorials, and obituaries. Dates of coverage in LexisNexis vary by publication. NOTE: Due to publisher restrictions, Lexis Nexis Academic users may only access the latest 6 months of the Los Angeles Times. Use ProQuest Newspapers for complete coverage of the Los Angeles Times online.
Los Angeles Times, 1985 - present and Los Angeles Times Historical, 1886 - 1985 (ProQuest)
Can be searched simultaneously with ProQuest Newsstand, Ethnic NewsWatch, and other ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest), 1934-2005
Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), an African-American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.
New America Media
New America Media is the country's first and largest national collaboration and advocate of 2000 ethnic news organizations.
La Opinion
La Opinion  is available online from 1992 to present, and on microfilm from 1926 to present.
ProQuest Newsstand
Full text for 500+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, the Daily News, Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Chicago Tribune, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.Can be searched simultaneously with Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers.Click the Publications link to select individual newspaper titles to browse by date or search by keyword. Can also limit to document Type, such as editorial, speech, and review.

Directories of News Media

In addition to checking the list of publications indexed in the databases listed above, the following directories of news sources and other periodicals and media will identify publications and other sources by various criteria. Check the the Library Catalog Journal Title search to see if the Library subscribes to the publication.

ABYZ Newspapers & News Media Guide
Exhaustive directory of links to newspapers and news media web sites arranged by region and country. Indicates the type of media (newspaper, broadcast, internet, magazine, press agency) and the media focus (business, general, sport, miscellaneous), as well as the language.
Alternative Press Center Directory of Periodicals
Alphabetical and categorized list of alternative press titles includes information about the title.
Ulrichsweb.com
Online directory used to identify periodicals by title, subject, or publisher and other criteria. Provides background information on the periodical.