Information Systems 312/Sharbaf: Recommended databases

Recommended databases

 

Finding a company's SWOT analysis

A SWOT analysis is a strategic planning method that looks at a company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats.

 

Here are two short videos on finding a company's SWOT analysis. The first shows you how to search in Business Source Elite and the other shows you LexisNexis Academic:

 

Information on SWOT analysis and IS and researching IS problems in business

ABI/INFORM Complete: Do a keyword search (ex: "information systems" and "SWOT analysis"; ex: "information systems" and layoffs and support; ex: "information systems" AND "global networks"). You can also limit by type of document or the source.

Academic Search Elite: Search by keyword or subject.

Google Scholar: Search for scholarly journal articles and books. Follow the directions in our database list to set up Scholar to also search the library's full-text articles.

Emerald Fulltext: Find academic journals articles on information systems, including case studies. Search by keyword.

JSTOR: Choose BUSINESS from the subject list at the bottom of the page and keyword search. Ex: "information systems" AND "human resources" AND privacy

Here is a video on searching for business articles in JSTOR:

 

Finding a company's history and other background information:

S&P NetAdvantage: Search by company name to find company information.

Mergent Online: Here is a short video on finding company information in Mergent:

 

NOTE: Click here to access all of the business databases.

 

 

Access Databases from Off Campus

Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. To access the databases from off campus, click the name of the database. You will then see a screen asking you to log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).

For more information, see Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus and the Library's Copyright Statement (in particular, the Appropriate Use of Oviatt Library's Electronic Resources section).