IS 335 Group Project Guidelines
Your team (3-4 members) can choose any IT product that is not covered (or is lightly covered) in your textbook. Cutting edge and emerging technologies are welcomes. You will write a report and create a presentation on this product and its company. Presentations are schedules on the last two days of class and the report is due at the time of the presentation. You will present in order y group number. The report is worth 100 points and the presentation is worth 50 points.
A. Executive Summary
B. Company Analysis
1. Company History/ Background Information
2. SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) Analysis
3. Financial Analysis of the Company
i. Using the financial ratios, explain the financial health of the company. You may use the information from the company's balance sheet and income statement, but do not insert these entire statements into the report.
C. IT Product Functions and Features
Business Related Databases & Company Profiles
Business, Industry, and Organization Sources
The following selective list of online databases and web sites will lead you to sources of information about companies, organizations, industries, and the people who work in them.
- Business Resources
Oviatt Library Subject Guide to business and economics research resources.
- ABI/Inform Compete (ProQuest)
Full‐text journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and data and reports.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Can be seached simultaneously with Communication and Mass Media Complete, Academic Search Premier, and other EBSCOhost databases by selecting them from the Choose Databases menu.
- Foundation Center
Comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants.
Nonprofits reports and IRS Form 990s.
- Gale Directory Library
Online access to several directories: Brands and their Companies; Business Rankings Annual; Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Market Share Reporter; and Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans
- LexisNexis Academic: Company Dossier
Find headquarters locations, SEC filings, and executive hierarchies. Includes profiles of over 43 million companies worldwide and information on 1,000 industries.
- Mergent Online
U.S. and international company data and annual reports.
- Nielsen "Ratings"
Nielsen's Top 10s: "Discover what Americans are watching, reading, playing, browsing, buying and more"
Free reports and press releases on their research. Detailed data only available to paying clients. Search also library databases for articles about Nielsen ratings, such as Communication & Mass Media Complete, Business Source Premier, and ABI/Inform Complete. In addition, Variety reports Nielsen ratings. Search Variety directly through the OmniFile Full Text Mega database and enter "variety and nielsen and ratings" to locate summaries in Variety.
- Regional Business News
Coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Who Owns the News Media (Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism)
- Who Owns What: Columbia Journalism Review ("guide to what the major media companies own")
Boolean operators are words (or, and, not) used to connect search terms to expand (or) or narrow (and, not) a search within a database to locate relevant information. Boolean operators are also called logical operators or connectors.
It is helpful to diagram the effects of these operators:
women or females
|Or retrieves records that contain any of the search terms. It expands the search. Therefore, use "or" in between terms that have the same meaning (synonyms) or equal value to the search.|
women and media
|And retrieves records that contain all of the search terms. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "and" in between terms that are required to make the search specific.|
image not weight
|Not eliminates records that contain a search term. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "not" in front of a term to ensure that the search will not include that term. Warning: Some databases use "and not" instead of "not." Check the database help screen.|
Citation Formatting Tools
Citation managers are software that keep track of your sources and automatically format your citations in a variety of styles.
This tab contains citation guidelines and examples in both APA and MLA style formats, along with links to other styles and resources on citation styles. The style you should use is usually determined by the discipline or course in which you are working. Ask your instructor what style s/he requires or recommends.
Why Cite Sources? Avoiding plagiarism is the most obvious reason; it also helps you back up your arguments with credible evidence and allows others to track down the same resources.
Before turning in your paper, check for these common citation errors:
- Is the list of sources alphabetized?
- Are titles capitalized and/or underlined as required?
- Is spacing and indenting correct?
- Is proper punctuation used?
How to Cite Articles
- Determine which citation style to use; the two most commonly used at CSUN are MLA and APA. If your professor didn't specify, pick one and use it consistently.
- Check the sample style sheets (MLA or APA) to see what information the article citation should contain and how it should be formatted.
- Be sure to indicate where material you quoted directly or paraphrased came from.
For more information, see Citing Your Sources - Plagiarism.