The following briefly list recommended Jewish Studies databases and electronic resources available through Oviatt Library Resources many of which are listed on Databases A-Z.
In addition, below are recommended databases for Jewish Studies. They can be accessed along with other databases from either Databases A-Z or from the Find Articles and Research Data selection for Jewish Studies at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/JewishStudies
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
Encyclopaedia Judaica edited by Michael Berenbaum and Fred Skolnik, 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007. 18015 pp. 22 vols is the definitive encyclopedia on Judaica. The Oviatt Library now has both electronic and print access to this newest edition of Encyclopaedia Judaica. This updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. You can access this resource through the Oviatt Library Catalog. Encyclopaedia Judaica includes articles on all aspects of the Jewish World. Discusses religion, history, politics, culture, the Holocaust, Jewish arts and literature, Jews in America, and more. Includes multimedia features such as audio, video, and slide shows.
ATLA Religion Database. Scholarly index to over 1200 journals relating to the study of religion. Index goes back to 1949.
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies. A free website containing citations to scholarly articles on Jewish Studies. Produced by the Jewish National and University Library in Israel.
Academic Search Elite. A large interdisciplinary index and full text database of over 1700 full journals. Journal articles go back to the early 1990s to the present date.
America History and Life. The premier periodical index for research in U.S. history. It provides citation and abstract indexing for 2400 scholarly journals, review articles and dissertations covering the culture and history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. It covers publication years 1950s to date. For world history since 1450, use Historical Abstracts.
L'Annee Philologique. A database published by the Société Internationale de
Article First Comprehensive "citation only" database to over 12,000 different scholarly and popular journals. A good database to cover a wide range of interdisciplinary social science and science journals.
Historical Abstracts. The premier index for searching modern world history. It provides citation and abstract indexing for over 2000 scholarly journals, books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations covering world history (exclusive of the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: late 1950s to date. For U.S. and Canadian history use America History and Life.
Humanities Abstracts. 1984 to date. A citation and abstract index to over 400 scholarly periodicals in the humanities, including religious studies. From 1974-1984 use the Humanities Index in REF AI 3 I59. For the years 1906-1974 use the International Index in REF A13 I57.
JSTOR. A growing archive of full text core scholarly journals, some going back to the 1850s. Includes selected journals in the areas of: African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology. Does not contain the latest three years of issues.
Lexis Nexis Academic. Provides full text searchable access to several thousand journals, newspapers, newsletters, newswires, and international publications. Coverage begins around the 1970s to the present. CSULB authentication required.
Philosopher's Index. An international index with abstracts from more than 400 philosophy journals and
books. Index lists articles from 1940 to present.
Project Muse. An online full text access to more than 160 scholarly journals, many in the humanities and social sciences.
Reader's Guide Retrospective. Covers popular magazines from 1890 through 1983. Useful to find contemporary accounts of any event in the 20th Century including religious topics.
Using the Jewish Studies Subject Page to Find Databases and Resources
A starter list of recommended databases and resources for Jewish Studies can be found in on the Jewish Studies subject page.
- To search up to 10 databases simultaneously, check the boxes next to your selected databases, type your search term into the SimpleSearch form, and click GO. Note: Not all databases can be searched using the SimpleSearch interface. See SimpleSearch Database Search for more help.
- You can search each database in its native interface by clicking its name. Searching within the native interface offers more search refinements and access to the databases' controlled vocabulary, when available.