Japanese Language & Literature: Finding Articles

Databases containing English articles on Japan

Databases in Japanese

CiNii : Citation Information by NII NII 論文情報ナビゲータ
Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo (大学紀要)are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats.

See also the Getting the Most of CiNii Articles Database (link to University of Hawaii at Manoa)

Zasshi Kiji Sakuin 雑誌記事索引 Zassaku (National Diet Library) Click on Zasshi Kensaku 雑誌検索
Journal indexes from 1948 to present developed by the National Diet Library. List of journals indexed in the NDL Zasshi Kiki Sakuin database.

See also the Getting the Most of Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Guide (link to University of Hawaii at Manoa)

Nichigai Web Services : MAGAZINEPLUS UHM Only  日外ウェブサービスマガジンプラス
Japanese journal/magazine index. List of journals indexed in the database.

See also the Getting the Most of Nichigai Magazine Plus (link to University of Hawaii at Manoa)

Databases including full-text Japanese magazines/journal articles

JAIRO  (Japanese/English)
Japanese Institutional Repositories Online. It enables you to search all the institutional repositories sites in Japan. A lot of scholarly articles..

J-STAGE : Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic journals.
科学技術情報発信・流通総合システム ( Japanese / English )

Senryoki shinbun zasshi joho database 占領期雑誌記事情報データベース NDL site
占領期新聞・雑誌情報データベース The Institute of 20th Century site
Prange Collection University of Maryland. Title level search via the National Diet Library. The most comprehensive collection in the world of print publications issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-1949.

Other helpful sites

NDL Search 国会図書館サーチ Full-text and federated search site for 200+ databases List of databases

CiNii : Academic Society Journals and Research Bulletins List

Nihon no Bijutsu 日本の美術
Translation of titles of each issue created by Ohio State University

Finding & Accessing (Japanese)

The National Diet Library Digitized Contents
About 15,000 titles of Japanese doctoral dissertations (received 1991-2000) are available online in addition to about 126,000 titles provided only inside the NDL.

   Browse by title Title list of all the dissertations received by NDL from 1950 to present

Search dissertations and thesis via JAIRO. Check on "Thesis or Dissertation" box.