To find books on Japan, search first in the CSUN Library Catalog
The CSUN Library Catalog has many books about Japan, its language, literature and history.
Locally, UCLA and the Japanese American National Museum (JANM) also have extensive holdings in Japanese materials.
However, there are many other places to search for Japan related materials, especially if you are looking for items in the Japanese language.
Library Catalogs | 図書館カタログ (toshokan katarogu)
- Library of Congress
- National Diet Library | 国立国会図書館 (kokuritsu kokkai toshokan) Allows multipule database search. See the available database list.
- National Institute of Japanese Literature (NIJL) | 国文学研究資料館 マイクロフィルム、和古書、デジタル資料目録
- Waseda University Library | 早稲田大学中央図書館 (Waseda daigaku chuo toshokan)
- Waseda University Rare & Early Prints Catalog | 早稲田大学古典籍総合データベース Including Tale of Genji, Mordern Literature, Edo Literature, historical images, and more.
- Keio University Library | 慶應義塾図書館
- University of Tokyo Library | 東京大学附属図書館
- Tokyo Metropolitan Library| 東京都立図書館
- University of the Ryukyus Library | 琉球大学附属図書館
List of Japanese Library Catalogs
- Catalog list for Japanese libraries | 日本国内図書館 リスト(Nippon kokunai toshokan list)
Federated Search Engines Search multiple Catalogs in Japan
- 想 IMAGINE Book Search It searches multiple catalogs, Publishers databases, full text databases, and more.
- Calil Local カーリルローカル [Career Local]
- Prefecture Libraries Catalogs You can select libraries in each of Japan's 47 prefectures via NDL 総合目録ネットワーク
Union catalogs provide itemized records held by many libraries. They often include publishers' catalogs.
- OCLC Worldcat Allows search of holdings in libraries across the U.S. and internationally.
- CiNii Books Japanese / English The newest databases to replace NII Webcat
- Webcat Japanese & some European universities union catalog
- Webcat Plus Webcat + publishers' catalogs
- UK Japanese Union Catalog
- Google Books Japan Includes many full-text books digitized from Google's partner, Keio University
Directory of North American Collections of Japanese Old & Rare Materials
Overview, contact information of the participating North American institutions, which hold old and rare materials. Managed by the National Institute of Japanese Literature.
Specialized in early (classical) Japanese books
- 日本古典籍総合目録 国書書総目録+古典籍総合目録+国文研マイクロフィルムカタログ
Art Libraries Catalogs
- Books on Japan
- Dr. Shirane's Bibliographic Guide to Japanese Literature (Columbia University)
- Japanese Literature in Translation (Japan Foundation)
- Nihon Bungaku Internet Guide 日本文学インターネットガイド
- Japanese Text Initiative (JTI) (University of Virginia Library)
Allows you to search over 1 milion Japanese books both in print and digital. Provided by the National Institute of Informatics (NII)
e-dokusho e-読書 (beta version)
List of more Japanese & English E-books.
- Aozora Bunko 青空文庫 Full-texts of Japanese literature
- Aozora Bunko on the Internet Archive Aozora Bunko 青空文庫 can be searched and read via the Internet Archive site.
- Hathitrust Free online out-of-copyright books (English & Japanese)
- Japan Pen Club E-books 日本ペンクラブ電子文藝館 The Japan P.E.N. Club Digital Library mainly contains copyrighted literary works included with the permission of the copyright holders of each work, either the authors themselves or the copyright heirs if the author is deceased.
- The Japanese Historical Text Initiative (JHTI) A database made up of historical texts dating back more than 1200 years. The original version of every paragraph in every text is cross-tagged with its English translation, making it possible for any researcher to see, on the same screen, both the original and English translation of any word or phrase appearing in any JHTI text.
- Kindai Digital Library 近代デジタルライブラリー Full-text public domain Japanese books during Meiji & early Taisho periods
- Kotenseki Shiryo 古典籍資料 Full text of Japanese classical literature by the National Diet Library. Can search by citation.
- The Library on the Web 電子図書館 Full electronc texts of Japanese literature
- Koten bungaku denshi tekisuto kensaku 古典文学電子テキスト検索 Search engine to look for digitized early Japanese books