- Doing Photography and Social Science in the Allied Occupation of Japan, 1948-1951 Photographs taken by anthropologist John W. Bennett in occupied Japan, 1948-1951, with comments on the photos by Bennett. Also included are extensive selections from Bennett's professional journal of the period, and other documents.
- International Research Center for Japanese Studies Collection Many image databases developed by the Nichibunken
- Japan Air Raids Information about US Army Air Force raids against Japan during and post WWII. Includes interviews, primary documents, photos, moving images, sound recordings, etc.
- Japanese Old Photographs of the Bakumatsu Meiji Period 7,000+ photos taken all over Japan from the Bakumatsu (1868) through to the Meiji period
- Mainichi Photobank Mainichi Newspaper's photo archives. Free search. Fees are required to use photos.
- Meiji and Taisho Era Photograhs The photographs taken from the albums and photo books held by the NDL. Searchable by locations, category and keyword.
- Portraits of Modern Japanese Historical Figures Photographs of approximately 350 statesmen, government officials, military officers, businessmen, scholars and artists, who had an impact on building modern Japanese society.
- Yomiuri Hochi Shashinkan よみうり報知写真館 Yomiuri Newspaper photo archives. Searchable. Free viewing. Required to pay fees to use photos.
NDL Historical Sounds site
Historical sounds including music, rakugo, talks, etc. from 1900s to 1950s. Can search the entire collections.
Other Useful Links
- ARTstor Database (UHM Only)
- UHM ARTstor Workshops
- Image Archives
- Japan Video Topics
- Union Catalogs of the National Museums in Japan
- Visualizing Culture (MIT)
Copyright & Permission Requests
When you need to use images from Japan for your scholarly publications, pay attention to copyrights and restrictions. Consult these resources for more details how you can use images from Japan.
Anime License Site Provides the list of anime license information
Chosakuken Daicho 著作権台帳 Provides information on copyright holders in Japan
Association of American University Presses Guildlines including sample letters and copyright table