Jewish Studies Research Guide: Books

Jewish Studies

Use the Library Catalog to find books on a topic within Jewish Studies or Judaism. If you don't know a specific title, then start with a KEYWORD search.   The following are some selected suggested Subject Headings you may choose to search under:

  • Jewish People
  • Judaism

Reference Resources

This guide lists items found mainly in the Reference Room of the Oviatt University Library at CSUN, unless otherwise indicated. Many more title are available in the library. Please check the catalog for others. You can search the catalog by author, title, subject, and keyword. Please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk. The works listed on this page are excellent starting points for research in the area of Jewish Studies, and can be used to find background information, definitions of terms or concepts, biographical information, maps, and citations to additional resources. Most books can be found in the Reference Room (REF) of the Oviatt library, except as indicated.

Handbooks and Companions

American Jewish Desk Reference.
American Jewish Historical Society, 1999. 
ALEXANDER REF E184.35.A44

American Jewish Year Book.
1900-.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA STACKS E184.J5. Latest Edition REF.

Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture from the 18th Century to the Present.
1989.
ALEXANDER, DANA REF DS102.8.B46

Handbook of American-Jewish Literature: An Analytical Guide to Topics, Themes, and Sources.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DOUGLASS, KILMER STACKS; DANA REF PS153.J4H365

The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies.
OUP, 2002.
ALEXANDER REF BM70.O95 2002

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopaedia Judaica: Das Judentum in Geschichte und Gegenwart.
10v, [1928-1934].
ALEXANDER REF DS102.8.E5

Encyclopaedia Judaica. 
16v., 1972. 
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF DS102.8.E496
CD-ROM Version. 1997.
ALEXANDER REF DESK DS102.8.E496

Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust.
3 v. NYU, 2001.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF DS135.E8E45 2001

Encyclopedia of Judaism.
3 v. Neusner et al., eds. Continuum, 1999.
ALEXANDER REF BM50.E63 1999

Encyclopedia of the Palestine Problem.
2v., 1991.
ALEXANDER, DANA (v.2 only), KILMER REF DS119.7.N2928

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust.
4v., Macmillan, 1990.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF D804.3.E53 1990

English-Yiddish Encyclopedic Dictionary; a Complete Lexicon and Work of Reference in All Departments of Knowledge.
Jewish Press, 1915.
ALEXANDER REF PJ5117.A2

Harduf's Transliterated English-Hebrew Dictionary.
10 v. Harduf Books, 1994-.
ALEXANDER REF

The Jewish Encyclopedia....
12v., Funk & Wagnalls, 1901-06..
ALEXANDER STACKS; DANA, DOUGLASS REF DS102.8.J65

Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia.
Routledge, 1997. 2v.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF.2.J49

Jewish Encyclopedia
Contains the full text, illustrations, and page images of the original 12-volume work, also available in print in various Rutgers libraries.

Judaism 101
An online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices, and customs.

Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia.
2002.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF DS124.M386 2002

New Standard Jewish Encyclopedia.
7th ed. Facts on File, 1992.
ALEXANDER REF DS102.8.S73

Oxford Dictionary of  the Jewish Religion.
1997.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF BM50.O94

Oxford English-Hebrew Dictionary.
1996.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DOUGLASS REF PJ4833.J4J48

Reader's Guide to Judaism.
Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
ALEXANDER REF, STACKS BM50.R43 2000

Yale Companion to Jewish Writing and Thought in German culture, 1096-1996.
Yale, 1997.
ALEXANDER REF and STACKS, CAMDEN REF DS135.G3Y35 1997

Guides to the Literature

Brisman, Shimeon. Jewish research literature. Cincinnati : Hebrew Union College Press, 1977
REFRM NOCIRC Z6366 .B8 1977 v.1

Cutter, Charles. Jewish reference sources : a selective, annotated bibliographic guide. New York : Garland, 1982.REFRM NOCIRC Z6366 .C87 1982

Wertheimer, Jack. The Modern Jewish experience : a reader's guide.New York : New York Univ.Press, 1993.
FLOOR2 DS115.95 .M63 1993

Encyclopedia, Handbooks, Dictionaries

Encyclopaedia Judaica. Jerusalem, [New York] Encyclopaedia Judaica; Macmillan [c1971-72, 16 volumes.
REFRM NOCIRC DS102.8 .E496 v.1-16.

Abramson, Glenda. The Blackwell companion to Jewish culture : from the eighteenth century to the present. Oxford : Blackwell Reference, 1989. REFRM NOCIRC DS102.8 .B46 1989

Ausubel, Nathan.The book of Jewish knowledge; an encyclopedia of Judaism and the Jewish people, covering all elements of Jewish life from Biblical times to the present. New York, Crown [1964]
FLOOR2 NOCIRC BM50 .A8

Comay, Joan. Who's who in Jewish history; after the period of the Old Testament. [1st American ed.] New York, D. McKay Co. [1974] REFRM NOCIRC DS115 .C6 1974

Isaacs, Ronald H. The Jewish information source book : a dictionary and almanac. Northvale, N.J. : Jason Aronson, c1993. REFRM NOCIRC BM50 .I78 1993

Isaacson, Ben. The international Jewish encyclopedia. [Englewood Cliffs, N.J., Prentice-Hall, 1973]
This encyclopedia of Jews and Judaism throughout the world includes material about youth groups and hostels in Israel. FLOOR2 NOCIRC DS102.8 .I8 1973

Roth, Cecil. The New standard Jewish encyclopedia. Garden City, N.Y. : Doubleday, 1977. REFRM NOCIRC DS102.8 .S73 1977

Wigoder, Geoffrey. Encyclopedic dictionary of Judaica. New York : Leon Amiel, c1974.
REFRM NOCIRC DS102.8 .W5

Selected Reference Works

Hebrew Scripture

The Dead Sea Scrolls. Discoveries in the Judaean Desert.
ALEXANDER FOLIO BM487.B3 1955a v.1-26.

The Dead Sea scrolls on microfiche [microform] : a comprehensive facsimile edition of the texts from the Judean Desert.
With inventory list and two companion volumes.
ALEXANDER M-FICH 441, 134 fiches +
ALEXANDER REF BM487.A05 1993 v.1-3

The Talmud : the Steinsaltz edition.
ALEXANDER FOLIO BM499.5.E4 1989 v.1-21

Atlases

Atlas of Medieval Jewish History.
1992.
ALEXANDER REF G1034.B413.

Atlas of Modern Jewish History.
Oxford U. Press, 1990.
ALEXANDER FOLIO; CAMDEN, DOUGLASS REF G1030.F6513

Historical Atlas of the Jewish People: From the Time of the Patriarchs to the Present.
1992.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF DS117.J8513

Historical Atlas of the Holocaust.
United States Holocaust Museum, 1996.
ALEXANDER STACKS; CAMDEN REF G1797.21.E29H5

The Illustrated Atlas of Jewish Civilization: 4,000 Years of Jewish History.
1990.
DANA, DOUGLASS REF G1030.G48

Biographical Sources

American Jewish Biographies.
Facts on File, 1982.
ALEXANDER REF E184.J5A38

Dictionary of Jewish Biography.
by Geoffrey Wigoder, 1991.
ALEXANDER, DOUGLASS REF DS115.W49.

Jewish American Women Writers : A Bio-bibliographical and Critical Sourcebook.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DOUGLASS REF PS153.J4J48 1994

Who's Who in Jewish History, After the Period of the Old Testament.
1974.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DOUGLASS REF DS115.C6

Bibliographies and Catalogs

Bibliography of Jewish Bibliographies. Shunami, Shlomo.
1969.
ALEXANDER REF Z7070.A1S5

Bibliography on Holocaust Literature.
1986.
ALEXANDER STACKS Z6374.H6E33; CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF D804.3.E33

Dictionary Catalog of the Jewish Collection.
New York Public Library, 1960, 1975. 22v.
Now largely superceded by the online catalog of the NYPL, but perhaps not for works in non-Roman scripts and older publications. Use the online catalog before visiting the NYPL to determine if material must be ordered to the reading room from remote storage.
ALEXANDER REF Z6375.N6

Felix Posen Bibliography Project on Antisemitism
Search The Annotated Bibliography on Antisemitism and the Holocaust (1984- ); Antisemitism: The Retrospective Bibliography (1969-1983), and the "'Jewish Question' in German-Speaking Countries, 1848-1933". From the Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism.

Guide to the Holdings of American Jewish Archives. James W. Clasper and M. Carolyn Dellenbach.
1979.
For more information on manuscript collections in the US, see Other Library Catalogs and especially Archival Resources.
ALEXANDER REF Z6373.U5H43 1979

Judaica Americana: A Bibliography of Publications to 1900. by Robert Singerman.
1990. 2v.
ALEXANDER REF Z6373.D5S58

The Lawrence Marwick Collection of Copyrighted Yiddish Plays: An Annotated Bibliography. By Zachary M. Baker.
2004.
An Adobe PDF file.
A 233 p. online publication of the Library of Congress describing this unique manuscript collection.

ULI - The Israel Union Catalog
Often known by its telnet version, Aleph, this database identifies the collective holdings of Israeli libraries. For libraries in the US, see Other Library Catalogs.