Goals of Library Session
- Learn about the Oviatt Library website at http://library.csun.edu
-
Learn how to find articles by using Databases by Subject Kinesiology and use of

- Learn How to use the Library catalog to look up books, periodicals
- Learn about our Interlibrary Loan service for articles and books CSUN does NOT own
-
Be able to find your assigned reading articles in a variety of ways-by:
- journal lookup in catalog,
- keyword author and/or DOI lookup in OneSearch
- finding a record in a database,
- using SFX Find text Citation linker at http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/northridge/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi? or Oviatt Library's Find a Specific Article at http://library.csun.edu/FindResources/ArticlebyTitle
- by using PubMed Services Single Citation Matcher
- Learn about Information Resources: Kinesiology at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/Kinesiology
-
Learn about OneSearch at http://library.calstate.edu/northridge/articles/
- search up to 150 databases simultaneously (some of our databases are NOT in OneSearch at the present time-For example, Proquest Newspapers, is NOT but that could change)
- save records from diverse databases into your OneSearch account, the same login as your CSUN email. This is just an electronic shelf which cannot be edited. It is very easy and efficient to save a record in OneSearch, display Saved record(s) and use the "Export to EndNoteWeb" link to export the bibliographic information into your EndNoteWeb account where you can edit information and add any notes to the Research Notes field.
- Learn about Developing a Search Strategy
-
Learn strengths and controlled vocabularies of individual databases
- PubMed [Medical Subject Headings, My NCBI, Cited references] MedlinePlus, Citation Matcher, CSUN's URL at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib
- Physical Education Index (Proquest)
- ERIC (EbscoHost)-education (EBSCOHOST has several more Education databases)
- PsycInfo (EbscoHost)- Psychology
- SportsDiscus (EbscoHost)
-
Learn how to identify if CSUN owns an item using
in library databases , and if Oviatt library does NOT own, request on Interlibrary loan
APA Style
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association.
- APA Style Resources
OneSearch
OneSearch allows you to search, at this time, 150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog. Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet. OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database.
OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic. You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
Kinesiology Databases
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
(800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time) ![]()



