Goals of the Library Session
Students need to know how to search:
- Kinesiology databases
- OneSearch -Oviatt's discovery tool searches over 150 databases including our Library catalog.
and how to use
- EndNote Web -- the free version is now called EndNote Basic
- Find Text
- InterLibrary Loan if CSUN does not own - PDF's delivered to your ILL inbox within day(s). Remeber to save to your computer or cloud or a flash drive. PDFs are saved for only 1 month in your ILL received box
Class Textbook is:
CSUN Online Catalog
CSUN library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings when . Following are a select list of LC subject headings appropriate for research on topics for kinesiology and physical education. Each LC subject heading is a link into our CSUN catalog. Remember to Sort Results by date to get the most recent books first. If you want to retrieve ALL books that mention the keyword(s) anywhere in the catalog record change the search from a subject search to a keyword anywhere.
- Kinesiology ; Physical Education and Training ; Sports Medicine
- Human Locomotion; Biomechanics; Movement Education
- Exercise Therapy; Motor Ability
Call Number Ranges (for browsing the Book Stacks):
- Floor 4 QP303 Kinesiology ; RC1200 Sports Medicine
- Floor 2 GV Physical Training, Physical Education, Sports, Dance
The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in thousands of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through interlibrary loan. To determine the availability of an article, most databases offer the FindText button.
Below are recommended databases for Kinesiology . They can be accessed either from Databases A-Z, as well as from the Databases by Subject: Kinesiology at http://library.calstate.edu/northridge/databases/subject/kinesiology
You can also build your own database of records you retrieve from the following databases by creating a free account with Endnote Web at http://myendnoteweb.com.
OneSearch Search over 150 databases. You can save records in your Account same login as you use for the CSUN portal. You can not edit the records, the login merely provides you with an electronic shelf.
indexes over 5,000 medical journals from 1950- present. Also offers free access to Myendnote web, bibliographic management software, which help you cite references in format requested by your professor: APA or JAMA style
Offers Medline (currently indexing over 5,000 journals), several molecular biology and chemical databases. Some full text journals and books, 1950-
Physical Eduation Index (Proquest)
Indexes 293 journals, reports, conferences and more, 1970-; abstracts 2001-
Indexes over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from 1,600 journals; provides full-text access to many journals and other sources, 1937-
Indexes over 900 health and allied health journals with full text articles in 686 journals, 1980-
Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega (Proquest)
Cross-searching of Education Index with Full Text, General Science Index with Full Text, Humanities Abstracts with Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective and Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Index with Full Text, Business Index with Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Abstracts 775 education journals, ED reports, 1966-
Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier; with full-text access to over 1,400 journals.
CSUN University Library Catalog indexes books, periodicals, media and other materials held by the Oviatt Library.
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Contains over 62 million records for all types of materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries.
Several evidence based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews.
Google Scholar - remember to go into settings, and add a Library Link for CSUN, and set the Bibliography Manager to show links to import to RefMan (which creates an .ris file that imports nicely into EndNoteWeb)
The following are journals CSUN owns in paper and electronically. The links to the journal titles go to the journal title's catalog record in CSUN Catalog: Periodicals. The catalog record gives you the call number for the journal in print and also provides a link to the online journal when journal is available online.
Library Catalog Periodical Title Search gives you access to over 25,000 electronic journals. To search for electronic periodicals only, check the "Search electronic periodicals only" checkbox.
Topics of interest to this class
- healthy aging
- cardiovascular disease
- obesity in children (childhood)
- female athlete triad
- post bed rest immobilization
- exercise and pregnancy
- SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)
- Physical Education Index (ProQuest)
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
- ERIC (EBSCO)
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
- Cochrane Library (Wiley)
- Google Scholar
Full text databases
Library Catalog Basic Search
Starting from the Library Catalog Basic Search screen you can search by Keyword, Title, Author, or Subject by selecting the radio buttons and typing search words in the text box.
The default Limits setting will search the entire collection. You may also limit your search to smaller sub-collections: Ejournals (electronic periodicals--not specific articles), Ebooks, NCOD (National Center on Deafness), TCC (Teacher Curriculum Center), Periodicals/Serials (not specific articles), Videos, Reference Room, Special Collections, or Sound Recordings by selecting a collection from the drop-down menu.
Searching for a specific Item
Select an Author or Title search if you know the author (last name, first name) or at least the first few words of the title.
Searching for Items by Topic
There are two ways to search the online catalog for resources on a topic: by Keyword or by Subject.
- A Basic Keyword search will simultaneously look for words in titles of materials, in subject headings, and in notes fields.
- A Subject search will locate materials by Library of Congress Subject Headings, which is a controlled vocabulary or standard list of subject terms. The Oviatt Library assigns Library of Congress Subject Headings to all items listed in the online catalog.
- Another way to find the Library of Congress Subject Heading for your topic is to search the catalog by Keyword, display the record for a relevant title, and select one or more of the Subjects listed for that record.