(a) locate and analyze a research article, and (b) and integrate the content of your article with what you are learning in KIN 479. List of topics to search are:
Degrees of freedom
- Coordinative structures
- Bernstein, Nicolai
- Bernstein problem
- Motor skill
- Postural Control
- Motor Milestones
- Fundamental motor skills
- Reaching, grasping, and manipulation
other Keyword searches might be postural control; development AND postural control; aging AND postural control; abnormal postural control; mobility AND gait OR stair-walking OR "sitting to Standing"; abnormal mobility; locomotion AND older adults
Goals of the Library Session
- Learn about the Oviatt Library website at http://library.csun.edu
- Learn how to find articles by using Databases by Subject Kinesiology and use of
- Learn How to use the Library catalog to look up books, periodicals
- Learn about our Interlibrary Loan service for articles and books CSUN does NOT own
Be able to find your assigned reading articles in a variety of ways-by:
- journal lookup in catalog,
- finding a record in a database,
- using SFX Find text Citation linker at http://sfx.calstate.edu:9003/northridge/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi?
- by using PubMed Services Single Citation Matcher
- Learn about Information Resources: Kinesiology at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/Kinesiology
Learn about OneSearch at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/kinesiology
- search up to 150 databases simultaneously
- save records from diverse databases into your OneSearch electronic shelf account-same login as yur CSUN email
- Learn about Developing a Search Strategy
Learn strengths and controlled vocabularies of individual databases
- PubMed [Medical Subject Headings, My NCBI, Cited references] MedlinePlus, Citation Matcher, CSUN's URL at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib
- Physical Education Index (Proquest)
- ERIC (EbscoHost)-education (EBSCOHOST has several more Education databases)
- PsycInfo (EbscoHost)- Psychology
- Web of Science (ISI) - indexes 14,000 scholarly, peer review journals with cited and citing references
- Learn how to identify if CSUN owns an item using in library databases , and if Oviatt library does NOT own, request on Interlibrary loan
- Learn how to get help to Cite Sources APA style on Citing your resources at http://library.csun.edu/Guides/ResearchStrategies/CitationStyleGuide
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)
- SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)
- Physical Education Index (ProQuest)
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
- ERIC (EBSCO)
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
- Cochrane Library (Wiley)
- Google Scholar
Full text databases
How to Cite Articles
- Determine which citation style to use; the two most commonly used at CSUN are MLA and APA. If your professor didn't specify, pick one and use it consistently.
- Check the sample style sheets (MLA or APA) to see what information the article citation should contain and how it should be formatted.
- Be sure to indicate where material you quoted directly or paraphrased came from.
For more information, see Citing Your Sources - Plagiarism.
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.