Facts and Statistics
The following are from government and private sources of facts and statistics beyond journals and books, for finding information to support research papers and presentations.
Factual Information: Selected Sources
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Electronic encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.)
- SAGE Knowledge (Electronic encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences and education.)
- Encyclopedia Britannica (Free website.)
- Legal Research Sources (Links to sources of legislative, judicial, and administrative law, including periodical databases.)
- NewsBank Special Reports (Focus on topics of current interest, including current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. Updated daily.)
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) (Features "viewpoint articles" (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to web sites.)
- CQ Researcher (Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.)
- Public Records Searching
- Public Opinion Polls and Surveys
- RefDesk.com--Reference, Facts, News
- USA.gov (The United States government's official web portal. Also provides links to relevant state and local government websites.)
Statistical Data: Selected Sources
- American Factfinder (Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census. Use their tutorials to learn more.)
- 2010 Census (Quick access and description of the latest Census of Population and Housing.)
- PolicyMap (Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to visualize data about communities.)
- Disability: U.S. Census Bureau
- Foreign Born: U.S. Census Bureau
- Immigration Statistics: Dept. of Homeland Security
- Language Use: U.S. Census Bureau (Census data on languages spoken in the United States)
- Same Sex Couples: U.S. Census Bureau
- San Fernando Valley Statistics & Facts
- Finding Statistics (Oviatt Library guide to finding statistics by topic, from various government agencies, etc.)
Politics & Government
- Voting and Elections News
- Citizen Media Law Project's Legal Guide
- FactCheck.org Annenberg Public Policy Center, University of Pennsylvania
- Government Information: Politics & Elections
- League of Women Voters
- MAPlight.org ("public database, illuminates the connection between campaign donations and legislative votes in unprecedented ways." Includes U.S., California, and Los Angeles information. )
- Political Science Research Sources (Links to library databases and websites for locating primary sources and periodical literature.)
In addition to the links and information provided on the Library's Government Publications page, the following websites lead to more specific information on government at various levels.
- USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
- Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room
- Federal Election Commission
- FDsys: Federal Digital System (GPO) provides access to official Federal Government information. Offers a collection of full-text databases and the text of federal bills, Congressional Record, the Federal Register, and other legal sources.
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
- Library of Congress
- Recovery.org: Tracking Economic Recovery Spending
- State of California
- California Courts (includes CA Supreme, Appelate, and Superior courts)
- California Department of Finance (has downloadable statistics on population, households, etc. by counties, cities, etc. )
- California Secretary of State
- California State Senate
- California State Assembly
- California State University
- California Voter Foundation
- Legislative Analyst's Office ("California's Nonpartisan Fiscal and Policy Advisor.")
- Rough & Tumble ("A Daily Snapshot of California Public Policy and Politics")
- University of California
- Los Angeles (City/County) Government Sources
- Los Angeles County (official website)
- City of Los Angeles (official website)
- San Fernando Valley Statistics and Facts
- Southern California Cities, Counties, and Subregions
- Foreign Countries (Includes country information, travel, U.S. foreign policy, U.S. foreign trade)
The Oviatt Library's can help you find court cases, legal codes, and scholarly law review journal articles; as well as background information and definitions of terms.
Primary Sources: Court Cases & Codes
- LexisNexis Academic
- Click Look up a Legal Case to quickly locate a court case by name, e.g., United States v. American Library Association or citation, e.g., 539 U.S. 19.
- Click Search by Subject or Topic to search state and federal court cases, law review journal articles, U.S. and state statutory codes, regulations, and constitutions; and some international cases and legislation. Use Advanced Options to narrow search by date, jurisdiction, subject area, and segment (title, author, etc.).
- Supreme Court of the United States (The official web site of the Supreme Court. In addition to the opinions, you can also read or listen to recent oral arguments presented at the Supreme Court.)
- FDsys (Federal Digital System, U.S. Government Printing Office) (Includes recent primary sources of information from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government.)
- FindLaw Cases and Codes (Search U.S. and State constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Note: FindLaw is not completely free. If you are prompted for a credit card to retrieve information, don't do it! Use LexisNexis Academic legal research to find similar information about court cases or codes.)
Secondary Sources: Law Reviews, Interpretations of the Law, Reference Sources
- LexisNexis Academic
- Click Search by Subject or Topic, Law Reviews, and then use Advanced Options to narrow search by date, area of law, and segment (title, publication, summary). Select Content Type Legal Reference to search legal encyclopedias, such as American Jurisprudence 2d, and dictionaries.
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2d edition (Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics; cites relevant cases and statutes. Includes definitions of legal terms and more.)
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
- FindLaw U.S. Constitution: First Amendment (From the Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation.)
- FindLaw Legal Dictionary (Definitions of legal terms and legal usage from Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law, 1996.)
- Law Databases and Research Guides (Oviatt Library databases and research guides)
Business, Industry, and Organization Sources
The following selective list of online databases and web sites will lead you to sources of information about companies, organizations, industries, and the people who work in them.
- Business Resources
Oviatt Library Subject Guide to business and economics research resources.
- ABI/Inform Compete (ProQuest)
Full‐text journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and data and reports.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Can be seached simultaneously with Communication and Mass Media Complete, Academic Search Premier, and other EBSCOhost databases by selecting them from the Choose Databases menu.
- Foundation Center
Comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants.
Nonprofits reports and IRS Form 990s.
- Gale Directory Library
Online access to several directories: Brands and their Companies; Business Rankings Annual; Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Market Share Reporter; and Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans
- LexisNexis Academic: Company Dossier
Find headquarters locations, SEC filings, and executive hierarchies. Includes profiles of over 43 million companies worldwide and information on 1,000 industries.
- Mergent Online
U.S. and international company data and annual reports.
- Nielsen "Ratings"
Nielsen's Top 10s: "Discover what Americans are watching, reading, playing, browsing, buying and more"
Free reports and press releases on their research. Detailed data only available to paying clients. Search also library databases for articles about Nielsen ratings, such as Communication & Mass Media Complete, Business Source Premier, and ABI/Inform Complete. In addition, Variety reports Nielsen ratings. Search Variety directly through the OmniFile Full Text Mega database and enter "variety and nielsen and ratings" to locate summaries in Variety.
- Regional Business News
Coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Who Owns the News Media (Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism)
- Who Owns What: Columbia Journalism Review ("guide to what the major media companies own")