(Note: Location: REF RM refers to the Reference Room on the main floor, Oviatt Library. For serial publications, earlier editions are usually found on the upper floors of the Library or in storage.)
- ABYZ Newspapers & News Media Guide
Bowker's News Media Directory (Former Title: Working Press of the Nation)
Location: REF RM Z6951 .W6
Broadcasting and Cable Yearbook (Ceased publication in 2011)
Location: Floor 2 HE8689 .B77
Editor and Publisher International Year Book
Location: REF RM PN4709 .E35
Gale Directory Library:
Online access to directories: Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Brands and their Companies; Business Rankings Annual; Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Market Share Reporter; and Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans, among others.
- Newspapers in Latin America
Standard rate and data service (SDRS)
Location: REF RM HF5905 .S7321
(Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types published worldwide, including basic circulation data and publisher information)
Research Methods Handbooks
To find additional research handbooks, perform a keyword search in the Library Catalog and enter terms such as "handbook*," "research," "method*," "measure*," etc. along with journalism-related keywords, such as method* and journalism.
Berger, Arthur Asa. (2011). Media and communication research methods: an introduction to qualitative and quantitative approaches. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications.
Location: Floor3 P91.3 .B385 2011
Communication research measures: a sourcebook. (2004). Rubin, Rebecca B. & Philip Palmgreen, et al., eds. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.
Location: Ref Rm P91.3 .C62 2004.
Provides various questionnaires, tests, scales, and measures in communications. See also Library Resources for Individual and Group Assessment for more information about locating information about and/or actual tests.
- Encyclopedia of Evaluation (2005). Sandra Mathison, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics (2007). Neil J. Salkind, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage. Publications.
- Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods (2008). Paul J. Lavrakas, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA, Sage.
Library Resources for Communication Studies: TOC . Chicago, IL: Communication Studies Committee, Education and Behavioral Sciences Section, Association of College & Research Libraries.
Covers core information resources including, associations and organizations, conferences, listservs, journal indexes and abstracts, lists of libraries with special collections, and research guides for key areas in communication studies, journalism, and mass media. Check the Library Catalog or Databases A-Z to see if CSUN has the resource.
Rubin, Rebecca B. & Philip Palmgreen, et al. (Eds.). (2004) Communication research measures: a sourcebook. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004.
Location: REF RM P91.3 .C62 2004
Provides various questionnaires, tests, scales, and measures in communications. See also Psychological Measurement & Instrument Guide for more information about locating information about and/or actual tests and instruments.
- The Sage encyclopedia of qualitative research methods (2008). Lisa M. Given, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
- The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods (2004). Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman, Tim Futing Liao, eds. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage.
The SAGE handbook of media studies. John D. H. Downing, ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2004.
Location: FLOOR 3 P90 .S18 2004
The Sage handbook of performance studies. D. Soyini Madison and Judith Hamera, eds. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2006.
Location: FLOOR3 PN1590.S6 S24 2006
For additional encyclopedias related to journalism, search the Library Catalog using the keyword search for: "Mass media and Encyclopedias" or "media and dictionaries."
cultscock--communication studies, media studies, cultural studies
Glossaries, summaries of theories and concepts in communication studies and mass media.
Includes online access to 80 full-text reference sources such as Encyclopedia of Communication Theory, 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook, Encyclopedia of Journalism, and Encyclopedia of New Media.
Encyclopedia of international media and communications. Donald H. Johnston, ed. San Diego, Calif.: Academic Press, 2003.
Location: REF RM P87.5 .E532 2003 v.1-4
- Encyclopedia of Journalism. Christopher H. Sterling, editor. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007.
History of the mass media in the United States: an encyclopedia. Margaret A. Blanchard, ed. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.
Location: REF RM P92.U5 H55 1998
Hudson, Robert V. Mass media : a chronological encyclopedia of television, radio, motion pictures, magazines, newspapers, and books in the United States. Garland reference library of social science ; v. 310. :New York : Garland Pub., 1987.
Location: REF RM P92.U5 H77 1987
Kurian, George. World press encyclopedia. New York : Facts on File, 1982.
Location: REF RM PN4735 .K87 v.1-4
Coverage of the world press, its history, economics, censorship, education and training.
Paneth, Donald. The Encyclopedia of American journalism. New York : Facts on File, 1983.
This encyclopedia of newspapers, magazines, radio, television, photography, newsreels and documentaries lists more than 1,000 entries. Influential figures in media and journalism are also covered.
Location: REF RM PN4855 .P26 1983
Watson, James. Dictionary of media and communication studies. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Location: REF RM P87.5 .W38 2006
World press encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide, Amanda C. Quick, project editor. Detroit : Gale, c2003.
This comprehensive survey of press and electronic media covers over 200 countries and their systems. Arranged alphabetically by country, entries include overview and background, economic framework, general characteristics, number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, education and training in journalism, and more.
For books by or about specific journalists, search the Library Catalog by the name of the journalist or media personality as an author or subject (last name, first name). To search for collections of biographies, search the Library Catalog using the keyword search: journalists and biography and dictionaries. The LexisNexis Academic "People" search is also useful.
Biographical Dictionary of American Journalism. New York : Greenwood Press, 1989.
Location: REF RM PN4871 .B56 1989
The Encyclopedia of American Journalism. New York : Facts on File, c1983.
Location: REF RM PN4855 .P26 1983
Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Journalists :New York : Garland, 1986.
Location: REF RM PN4871 .T34 1986