There are several databases that will allow you to perform company research. The video tutorials below will show you how do this research. Even though the tutorials point to a particular type of research, there are many categories in the databases from which to choose from. As you do your research, pay attention to the other categories on the pages.
Date company founded/incorporated in Mergent Online
SWOT analysis in LexisNexis Academic
SWOT analysis in Business Source Elite
Company financial ratios in Mergent Online
Stock reports in S&P NetAdvantage
Top companies by sales in LexisNexis
Factiva: Move your mouse over the COMPANIES/MARKETS tab at the top. Choose COMPANY. Type company name.
Find industry information by choosing the "Industries" link on the left-hand side of the page.
Business Related Databases & Company Profiles
Business and Industry Sources
The following selective list of online databases and web sites will lead you to sources of information about companies, organizations, industries, and the people who work in them.
Oviatt Library Subject Guide to business and economics research resources.
ABI/Inform Compete (ProQuest)
Full‐text journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants.
Nonprofits reports and IRS Form 990s.
Gale Directory Library
Online access to several directories: Brands and their Companies; Business Rankings Annual; Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Market Share Reporter; and Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans
LexisNexis Academic: Company Dossier
Find headquarters locations, SEC filings, and executive hierarchies. Includes profiles of over 43 million companies worldwide and information on 1,000 industries.
U.S. and international company data and annual reports.
Nielson - What People Watch
Get the Top 10 TV, movies, videogames, websites, etc. watched during a recent week. Free reports and press releases on their research. Detailed data only available to paying clients. Search also library databases for articles about Nielsen rating, such as Communication & Mass Media Complete, Business Source Premier, and ABI/Inform Complete. In addition, Variety reports Nielsen ratings. Search Variety directly through the OmniFile Full Text Mega database and enter "variety and nielsen and ratings" to locate summaries in Variety.
Regional Business News
Coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.
- Who Owns the News Media (Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism)
- Who Owns What: Columbia Journalism Review ("guide to what the major media companies own")