This guide has been archived and may have outdated information or broken links.
Business Related Databases & Company Profiles
Business, Industry, and Organization Sources
The following selective list of online databases and web sites will lead you to sources of information about companies, organizations, industries, and the people who work in them.
- Business Resources
Oviatt Library Subject Guide to business and economics research resources.
- ABI/Inform Compete (ProQuest)
Full‐text journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and data and reports.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Can be seached simultaneously with Communication and Mass Media Complete, Academic Search Premier, and other EBSCOhost databases by selecting them from the Choose Databases menu.
- Foundation Center
Comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants.
Nonprofits reports and IRS Form 990s.
- Gale Directory Library
Online access to several directories: Brands and their Companies; Business Rankings Annual; Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory; Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.; Market Share Reporter; and Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans
- LexisNexis Academic: Company Dossier
Find headquarters locations, SEC filings, and executive hierarchies. Includes profiles of over 43 million companies worldwide and information on 1,000 industries.
- Mergent Online
U.S. and international company data and annual reports.
- Nielsen "Ratings"
Nielsen's Top 10s: "Discover what Americans are watching, reading, playing, browsing, buying and more"
Free reports and press releases on their research. Detailed data only available to paying clients. Search also library databases for articles about Nielsen ratings, such as Communication & Mass Media Complete, Business Source Premier, and ABI/Inform Complete. In addition, Variety reports Nielsen ratings. Search Variety directly through the OmniFile Full Text Mega database and enter "variety and nielsen and ratings" to locate summaries in Variety.
- Regional Business News
Coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Who Owns the News Media (Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism)
- Who Owns What: Columbia Journalism Review ("guide to what the major media companies own")