Mass Media Analysis and Criticism: Primary News Sources

News Sources

In addition to OneSearch, which allows limiting to news sources, the following news databases and websites will help you locate news sources from the local, national, international, and ethnic press, including current and historical.

Current | Local | Historical | Directories

Current News:

ProQuest Newsstand
Full text for 500+ U.S. and international news English language sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major and regional U.S. newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Chicago Tribune, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires, including the Daily News. Click the More Search Options link from the main search screen to reveal choices for limiting by Document Type, such as editorial, speech, and review. Click on News + Newspapers to search across multiple ProQuest databases, including their current, historical, and ethnic and other news sources.
New York Times
The Oviatt Library subscribes to the online version of the The New York Timesfrom 1851 to the present via several databases. The historical database provides cover-to-cover access from 1851-2011, including the advertisements and classifieds, in .PDF format.
LexisNexis Academic 
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database containing news, legal, biographical, and business information from over 12,000 U.S. and international publications. Enter terms in the main search box to retrieve news, cases, law reviews, and company information relevant to your search. Results can be sorted by date or relevance, and narrowed down by type of source (newspapers, company, legal, subject, geography, etc.) Use Search the News for simple "Google-style" searches of  large groups of the most popular news sources, such as newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. Click Search by Subject or Topic and then Advanced Options to search with Boolean operators and truncation and to locate more specific types of news sources. NOTE: Due to publisher restrictions, LexisNexis Academic users may only access the latest 6 months of the Los Angeles Times. Use Proquest Newsstand for complete coverage of the Los Angeles Times online.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Full-text collection of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Over 270 titles, 1960- present.
New America Media
New America Media is the country's first and largest national collaboration and advocate of 2000 ethnic news organizations.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Features "viewpoint articles" (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to web sites.
Provides comprehensive geopolitical and socioeconomic information, data, and current news on the recognized countries of the world.

Local News:

Daily News
The Daily News is the major newspaper published in San Fernando Valley. The library has it online from 1989 to present in various databases, and in microfilm from 1981 to present. Under it's former titles: Van Nuys News and Valley Green Sheet, the Library has it on microfilm from 1911-1976 and as the Valley News and Greensheet from 1976-1981.
Daily Sundial
California State University, Northridge online campus newspaper. The Oviatt Library also has archival access to the print version in its Digital Collections and microfilm. Use Google to search the Sundial site, for example: mens basketball
Los Angeles Times, 1985 - present (ProQuest)
Can be searched simultaneously with ProQuest Newsstand, Ethnic NewsWatch, and other ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Los Angeles Sentinel, 1991- present (ProQuest)
An African-American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.
La Opinion
La Opinion  is Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, distributed throughout the six counties of Southern California, and is the largest Spanish-language newspaper in the United States. It is available online from 1992 to present*, and on microfilm from 1926 to present. *Note: online coverage in Proquest and Lexis Nexis appears to be suspended since spring 2015.
El Nuevo Sol
A bilingual (Spanish-English) multimedia website of the interdisciplinary program in Spanish-language journalism at CSUN.
Patch is a collection of hyperlocal news feeds from around the United States.

Historical News:

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
A digital archive of more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers
Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
California’s Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922
Digital archive of American historical newspapers from California.
Chicago Defender (ProQuest), 1910-1975
Full text access to an influential African American newspaper. Founded in 1905, by the outbreak of the First World War, it had become the most widely-read black newspaper in the country, with more than two thirds of its readership based outside Chicago.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress), 1836-1922
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Hispanic American Newspapers
Digital archive of Spanish-language and some bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the U.S. 1808-1980.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
University of Arizona Libraries' digital collection of 20 significant Mexican and Mexican American publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Los Angeles Times Historical (ProQuest), 1886 - 1989
Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1989).
Los Angeles Sentinel (ProQuest Historical Newspapers), 1934-2005
Searchable full-page images and article images.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers), 1851-2009
Searchable full-page images and article images.
La Opinion
La Opinion  is Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, distributed throughout the six counties of Southern California, and is the largest Spanish-language newspaper in the United States. It is available online from 1992 to present, and on microfilm from 1926 to present.
Times Digital Archive (Gale), 1785-2006
Complete digital edition of The Times of London, England.
Undercover Reporting
This website, a collaboration with NYU Libraries, collects many decades of high-impact, sometimes controversial, mostly U.S.-generated journalism that used undercover techniques. It grew out of the research for the book, Undercover Reporting: The Truth About Deception (Northwestern University Press, 2012)


Library Catalog
If you know the name of a newspaper or other periodical and want to see if the Oviatt Library has it, search the Library Catalog by Journal Title  Note:any periodical title proceeded by [electronic resource] or [online] means that it is available in full-text via the Internet. After searching the Catalog for the newspaper, click the title to display the Library's subscription information, including which database(s) has the title online in full-text and the dates of coverage. Click the database name to search or browse the newspaper via the database.
ABYZ Newspapers & News Media Guide
Exhaustive directory of links to newspapers and news media web sites arranged by region and country. Indicates the type of media (newspaper, broadcast, internet, magazine, press agency) and the media focus (business, general, sport, miscellaneous), as well as the language.
News Frontier Database
Hosted by the Columbia Journalism Review website, the News Frontier Database aims to become a comprehensive, searchable database of online journalism sources.
News on the Web
Links to websites of national, international, and local newspapers, broadcast, and Internet news sources.
Newspaper Map
A social media site that uses Google Maps to visually represent where newspapers are published. Additions and corrections are encouraged. Presents a geographic view of where newspapers are published as well as representation by language. Provides links to the news websites. An article about its use appeared in MediaBistro. Recommend using Mozilla Firefox as the web browser.
Provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types published worldwide: academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.