Mass Media Analysis and Criticism: Secondary Critical Sources

Overview of Periodicals and Indexes/Databases

  • Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and scholarly journals) are excellent sources of current and/or specific information for research projects. Often, they are considered primary sources for research.
  • To see a list of the journals specific to journalism, public relations, etc. that the Oviatt Library subscribes to, from the Library Catalog's Basic search page, select keyword and enter journalism periodicals (or public relations, mass communication*, mass media, etc. along with periodicals) in the Search for: box. From the Limit to: pulldown menu, change "entire collection" to "Periodicals/Serials," and then click Submit Search. Note: any periodical title proceeded by the phrase [electronic resource] or [online] means that it is available via the Internet.
  • It's a good idea to formulate a search strategy before using a periodical database.
  • For a complete list of available databases, see Databases A-Z.

Specialized Databases:

Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and abstracts over 600 journals and trade publications; includes full text for over 240 journals. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State). Subjects covered include journalism, public relations, mass media, photojournalism, communication studies, speech, linguistics, communicative disorders, deaf studies, advertising, and related areas of interest to practitioners and educators in these fields. Dates of coverage vary by journal.  Includes cited reference searching to find out who has cited a particular author.
Sage Journals Online
Full text access to journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences, including almost 20 communication and media studies journals.
Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCOHost)
Indexes over 350 U.S. and international film and television periodicals, including popular magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. In addition, selected content is chosen from thousands of additional publications that contain relevant content. Dates of coverage vary.
Wiley Online Library: Communication & Media Studies Journals
Full text database includes journals and books in mass communication and media. While all Wiley content can be searched, CSUN on has access to those titles that have the "open lock" icon unlocked padlock icon .

Other Databases:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for nearly 4,600 periodicals, including more than 3,900 full-text peer-reviewed journals.  This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Allows limiting search results to peer-reviewed scholarly journals. 
Art Full Text (Wilson)
Covering 400 art publications, including those relevant to photojournalism and graphic design. Includes indexing 1984-, abstracts 1994-, and select full text 1997- .
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Can be seached simultaneously with Communication and Mass Media Complete, Academic Search Premier, and other EBSCOhost databases by selecting them from the "Choose Databases" menu within an EBSCOhost database.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOHost)
Issues such as freedom of speech, censorship, Internet filtering, and technology's effect on communication are covered in the library and information science journals, which are indexed and abstracted in LISTA.
MLA International Bibliography (Gale)
MLA International Bibliography, which is a publication of the Modern Language Association of America, covers literatures, languages, linguistics, and folklore. From 1926 to present, it provides author and subject indexing to over 4,000 journals, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Project MUSE
Project Muse includes full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including journals in film, theatre, and performing arts; classics, language, and music. A list of the journals covered by Project MUSE is available.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Freely available scholarly and academic online journals.
Google Scholar
Searches scholarly journals and other academic sources. To be able to link to full text available thru the CSUN library, click on "Settings," then "Library Links," and then search "CSUN" in the "Find Library" box. Select "Open WorldCat - Library Search" and "CSU, Northridge - SFX Find It at CSUN" and Save. You only have to do this once on your computer.