Music Resources at the Oviatt Library

Reference Works: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries

 All reference works are for library use only but may be photocopied.

  • The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2001)
     ML100 .N48 2001
    *Second circulating set in Music & Media (same call number)
    Oxford Music Online
  • Nico Castel's IPA libretti, such as Puccini, Wagner, and Mozart are in Music & Media in ML 49 and ML 50.
    They may not be checked out.
  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (1998-2002)
    ML100 .G16 1998
    *Second circulating set in Music & Media
    Garland Encyclopedia Online
  • Orchestral Music: A Handbook (2005)
    ML128 .OD3 2005
    *Second circulating copy in Music & Media
  • Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (2001)
    ML105 .B16 2001 v.1-6
  • The Oxford History of Western Music (2005)
    ML160 .T18 2005 v.1-6

Short Guide to Library of Congress call numbers

Printed Music (Scores): M

  • Solo instruments: M6 - M175
  • Chamber music: M177 - M990
  • Large ensemble music: M1000 - M1356
  • Secular vocal music: M1497 - M1998
  • Sacred vocal music: M1999 - M2199

Literature about Music: ML

  • Libretti: ML49 - ML50
  • Encyclopedias/Dictionaries: ML100 - ML109
  • Discographies/Bibliographies of Composers: ML128 - ML134
  • Music History: ML162 - ML 350
  • Composer/Musician Biographies: ML410 - ML420
  • Books about individual instruments: ML549 - ML950
  • Popular music (rock, hip hop, etc): ML3469 - ML3541

Musical Instruction and Study: MT

  • Student theses/final projects: MT9
  • Orchestration: MT70
  • Instrumental techniques: MT170 - MT810
  • Singing: MT820 - MT949

Recommended databases for music research :

Bibliographies and style guides:

  • Music Reference and Research Materials : An Annotated Bibliography (1994)
    ML113 .D83 1994

For research help, email Lindsay Hansen (Music & Media Librarian) or call 818-677-7147.