Major National/International News Organizations' News Websites
- ABC News
- BBC News
- CNN News
- CNN Money
- New York Times
- NPR Online (National Public Radio)
- PBS NewsHour
- USA Today
- Washington Post
Los Angeles area television and radio channels' news websites
Los Angeles area online newspapers
Some of the online newspapers listed below are also available in Oviatt Library's Newspaper databases, which offer CSUN students and faculty the capacity to search by subject, date, author, etc. and, since the Oviatt Library has already paid a substantial price to provide access to these databases, the databases do not ask CSUN students or faculty to pay to view articles. (Some of the newspaper sites listed below--as well as those listed in Google News and its' archive--do charge to view older articles or require user registration. Do not spend your money needlessly).
List of Los Angeles Newspapers and News Media (ABYZ Link) includes information on media focus (ethnic, alternative, etc.) and language that enable the user to quickly identify additional local ethnic and other specialized online news sources.
See also the Sacramento Bee for California politics.
- Los Angeles Times
- Daily News
- La Opinión
- Los Angeles Downtown News
- LA Weekly
- Pasadena Star-News
- Ventura County Star
- San Fernando Valley Sun
- Daily Breeze
- Long Beach Press Telegram
- Orange County Register
- Inland Valley Daily Bulletin
- San Bernardino County Sun
- Riverside Press Enterprise
- Antelope Valley Press
The Oviatt Library offers its students, faculty, and staff online access to thousands of full-text newspapers via subscription databases that offer sophisticated ways to search for a subject and, in most cases, include more years of coverage than a newspaper's own web site. The time between print publication and inclusion of the information in these databases varies, depending on the database and the original source. (Check each database for specific details on which news sources are included in the database and any timelag which may be involved).
- Proquest Newspapers
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
- Ethnic Newswatch and Ethnic Newswatch: A History
- CountryWatch includes a section on wire/news agency articles which can be particularly helpful for news stories on other countries. Note: People who are not entitled to use the Library's subscription access may connect to a free version via: http://www.countrywatch.com/.
- The Ovatt Library also subscribes to ProQuest Historical Newspapers Los Angeles Times, ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Times, Proquest Historical Newspapers Chicago Defender, Hispanic American Newpapers 1808-1980, Times Digital Archive, and America's Historical Newspapers (including California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922) for use by California State University, Northridge students, faculty, and staff who need access to historical newspapers online. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers can also be used. (Note: Historical papers also are available in the Oviatt Library's microfilm collection).
How do you find more web sites with up-to-the minute news?
- NewsLink lists websites of newspapers, radio/television stations, and more.
- ABYZ News Links includes geographically based lists, such as its List of Los Angeles Newspapers and News Media, that include information on media focus (ethnic, alternative, etc.) and language that enable the user to quickly identify ethnic and other specialized news sources.
- Newseum: Today's Front Pages (Map view) displays a world map that links you each day to hundreds of daily newspaper front pages in their original, unedited form. (Roll your mouse pointer over the map until an image of the page you want to view appears on the right side of the screen, then click to open the new window). Choose the Gallery view of these front pages (instead of the Map view) to sort the papers geographically. Includes a link to each newspaper's website.