Handbooks & Stylebooks
For additional style manuals, search the Library Catalog under the subjects "Journalism Style Manuals" and "Journalism Authorship." For additional guides to doing investigative research, search under the subject, "Investigative reporting" or "Journalism data processing."
- Associated Press broadcast news handbook / Brad Kalbfeld. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2001.
Location: REF RM PN4783 .K35 2001
- The Associated Press stylebook and briefing on media law : fully revised and updated with a new Internet guide and glossary . Cambridge, Mass : Perseus, 2000.
Location: REF RM PN4783 .A83 2000
- Attkisson, Sharyl. Writing right for broadcast and Internet news. Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c2003.
Location: FLOOR3 PN4784.B75 A88 2003
- A Broadcast news manual of style / R.H. MacDonald. New York : Longman, c1987.
Location FLOOR3 PN4784.B75 M24 1987
- Broadcast news writing stylebook / by Robert A. Papper. Delaware, Ohio : Robert A. Papper, c1987.
Location FLOOR3 PN4783 .P3 1987
- Library Resources for Communication Studies: Journalism . Chicago, IL: Communication Studies Committee, Education and Behavioral Sciences Section, Association of College & Research Libraries.
Covers core information resources including, associations and organizations, conferences, listservs, journal indexes and abstracts, lists of libraries with special collections, and research guides for key areas in communication studies, journalism, and mass media. Check the Library Catalog or Databases A-Z to see if CSUN has the resource.
- The language of news: a journalist's pocket reference / Jack Botts. Ames : Iowa State University Press, 1994.
Location: FLOOR3 PN4783 .B68 1994
- Handbook of Public Relations / Robert L. Heath, editor ; Gabriel Vasquez, contributing editor.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2000.
Location: FLOOR2 HD59 .H267 2000
- Los Angeles Times Stylebook : a manual for writers, editors, journalists, and students / compiled by Frederick S. Holley.New York : New American Library, c1981.
Location: FLOOR3 PN4783 .H56 1981
- Manual de estilo. Washington D.C. : National Association of Hispanic Journalists : Knight Ridder [distributor], 2003.
Location: FLOOR3 PN4783 .N38 2003
- The New York Times manual of style and usage. / Allan M. Siegal and William G. Connolly.
New York : Times Books, c1999.
Location: REF RM PN4783 .S57 1999
- Weinburg, Steve. The Reporter's Handbook: an investigator's guide to documents and
techniques. NY: St. Martin's, 1996.
Location: FLOOR3 PN4781 .R38 1996
- Reporter's handbook on media law. Sacramento, Calif. : California Newspaper Publishers Association, 1989-90. Note: CNPA reports 2007-08 edition in press (8/6/07).
Location: FLOOR2 (Ref) KFC535.A15 R47 1989-90