Pan African Studies 098: Guide to Library Research: Electronic Resources

Below are recommended databases for Pan African Studies. They can be accessed either from Databases A-Z, as well as from the Find Articles and Research Data Pan African Studies at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/PanAfricanStudies

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases
combining several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index

Academic Search Elite. A large interdisciplinary index and full text database of over 1700 full journals. Journal articles go back to the early 1990s to the present date.

America History and Life. The premier periodical index for research in U.S. history. It provides citation and abstract indexing for 2400 scholarly journals, review articles and dissertations covering the culture and history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. It covers publication years 1950s to date. For world history since 1450, use Historical Abstracts.

Historical Abstracts. The premier index for searching modern world history. It provides citation and abstract indexing for over 2000 scholarly journals, books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations covering world history (exclusive of the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: late 1950s to date. For U.S. and Canadian history use America History and Life.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984 to date. A citation and abstract index to over 400 scholarly periodicals in the humanities, including religious studies. From 1974-1984 use the Humanities Index in REF AI 3 I59. For the years 1906-1974 use the International Index in REF A13 I57.

JSTOR. A growing archive of full text core scholarly journals, some going back to the 1850s. Includes selected journals in the areas of: African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology. Does not contain the latest three years of issues.

Lexis Nexis Academic. Provides full text searchable access to several thousand journals, newspapers, newsletters, newswires, and international publications. Coverage begins around the 1970s to the present. CSULB authentication required.

Project Muse. An online full text access to more than 160 scholarly journals, many in the humanities and social sciences.

Reader's Guide Retrospective. Covers popular magazines from 1890 through 1983. Useful to find contemporary accounts of any event in the 20th Century including religious topics.