Pan African Studies 344: The Literature Of Africa and The Caribbean: Electronic Resources

Locating Periodicals

Periodical Indexes/Databases

For the purposes of your assignment you will need to access the following databases:

Black Studies Center

Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases
combining several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index

 

Literature Resource Center

The Literature Resource Center integrates biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every time period and literary discipline from numerous Gale directories. It covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers. New and updated material is added quarterly.

Note: You may also find these databases to be helpful in working to complete your research assignment.


MLA Bibliography
indexes literature, linguistic sources 1963-

1963 to present.

Provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide.
Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Contains in each record a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources. Now includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides full information on more than 4,000 journals and series in the MLA International Bibliography Master List of Periodicals.

Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database (free resource)
available at http://www.africabib.org/africa.html This English language database indexes over 33,000 articles from over 280 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.

African Women's Bibliographic Database available at http://www.africabib.org/women.html
This English language database contains over 22,000 citations from 1986 to current. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes.

Project Muse is a full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics from over 20 not-for-profit scholarly presses. Project contains full text of periodicals like Africa Today, Callaloo, (the premier African Diaspora literary journal), Research in African Literatures, and Small Axe

Academic Search Elite (EBSCOHost)

Provides full text for nearly 1,850 periodicals, including more than 1,250 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 3,237 periodicals in the collection. This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including communication studies. Allows limiting search results to peer-reviewed scholarly journals.

Book Review Digest Plus

Book Review Digest Plus indexes around periodicals which include reviews of English language fiction and nonfiction books. The database can be searched by subject, title, author, etc. The records do not indicate whether the review is favorable or unfavorable, but some records do include abstracts which may give you an idea of the opinion of the reviewer. It should be noted that the majority of the reviews indexed do not come from scholarly, academic journals. A complete list of the indexed journals is available from the link above.

General Reference Center Gold (Gale)

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images.


InfoTrac OneFile (Gale)

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access over 9,000 scholarly journals, and general interest news magazines and newspapers - over half contain full text and images. Browse subjects using the Subject Guide or search keywords using the Advanced Search. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Allows limiting search results to ("refereed") scholarly journals.