Political Science 310 Library Resources: Journal Articles

Databases A-Z - the Oviatt Library has over 100 databases. To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a research database. The following databases provide abstracts and full-text articles from thousands of journals and other sources.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-

Congressional Serial Set
Reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes for the period 1817-1980.

CQ Researcher

CQ Weekly
Reports on the U. S. Congress completely and accurately every week.

ERIC on EbscoHost (Educational Resources Information Center)
Use ERIC on EbscoHost

GPO Access
Provides access to official Federal Government information. Offers a collection of full-text databases and the text of federal bills, Congressional Record, the Federal Register, and other legal sources.

JStor Arts & Sciences, General Science Collections (Archival)
a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text database containing news, legal, business, and medical information. Dates vary.

RAND California
California economic and public policy issues, including over 80 statistical databases with data at various geographic levels, some covering the entire nation.

SAGE Journals Online
Full text to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.

Stat-USA Online
Service providing the most recent economic, business, and international trade information produced by the US Government. Includes the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB). NOTE: Available in the Library only at Reference Room workstations 13 and 14, east of the Reference Desk; select the database from the Start menu. No off-campus access.

USA Trade Online
Specific U.S. import and export information on more than 18,000 commodities by commodity, partner country, and customs port district. NOTE: Available in the Library only at Reference Room workstations 13 and 14, east of the Reference Desk; select the database from the Start menu. No off-campus access.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega (WilsonWeb)
Cross-searching of Education Index with Full Text, General Science Index with Full Text, Humanities Abstracts with Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective and Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Index with Full Text, Business Index with Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.