Political Science 355 Library Resources: Journal Articles

Databases A-Z - the Oviatt Library has over 100 databases. To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a research database. The following databases provide abstracts and full-text articles from thousands of journals and other sources.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-

America: History & Life

Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History (ProQuest)
Full-text collection of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Over 270 titles, 1960-

Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)
Indexes over 3,500 general interest and scholarly journals, including titles in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, with full text articles in over 2,000 journals. 1980-

Congressional Research Service Reports Research and analysis on public policy issues prepared for the U.S. Congress by nationally recognized experts. "CRS is committed to providing the Congress, throughout the legislative process, comprehensive and reliable analysis, research and information services that are timely, objective, nonpartisan, and confidential, thereby contributing to an informed national legislature."

CQ Researcher CQ Researcher full-text reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 12,000-word report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist, including sections on background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Note: Since the reports are written by journalists, it is not considered a scholarly journal. Coverage is from 1991 to the present.

CQ Weekly Online weekly magazine provides in-depth reports on issues before the U.S. Congress, plus a complete summary of the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Good source of current events and social issues. Coverage is from 1983 to present.

ERIC on EbscoHost (Educational Resources Information Center)
Use ERIC on EbscoHost

General OneFile (Gale) From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access over 9,000 scholarly journals, and general interest news magazines and newspapers - over half contain full text and images. Search specific keywords using the Advanced Search or browse subjects using the Subject Guide. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Allows limiting search results to scholarly journals ("peer-reviewed publications").

GPO Access
Provides access to official Federal Government information. Offers a collection of full-text databases and the text of federal bills, Congressional Record, the Federal Register, and other legal sources.

JStor Arts & Sciences, General Science Collections (Archival)
a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text database containing news, legal, business, and medical information. Dates vary.

Project MUSE
over 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics from over 20 not-for-profit scholarly presses.

ProQuest Newspapers
full text newspapers.

SAGE Journals Online
Full text to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.

Stat-USA
Online service providing the most recent economic, business, and international trade information produced by the US Government. Includes the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega (WilsonWeb)
Cross-searching of Education Index with Full Text, General Science Index with Full Text, Humanities Abstracts with Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective and Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Index with Full Text, Business Index with Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.