There are several possibilities for identifying evidence based research. The Library has a subscription to Cochrane and the Cochrane Database is a recommended database on Find Articles by Subject Physical Therapy
Several evidence based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews. CSUN subscription Access to Full text of reviews is limited to 1 user at a time.
PEDro - FREE Database of over 19,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
- Hooked on Evidence
APTA's "grassroots" effort to develop a database containing current research evidence and clinical scenarios on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions. REQUIRES MEMBERSHIP IN APTA or SUBSCRIPTION.
Provides access to several databases and health care literature from ProQuest, Joanna Briggs Institute, the Cochrane Library, and more. REQUIRES MEMBERSHIP IN APTA.
PubMed Health http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/
- In class I gave you lots of tips how you can use the special features in a PubMed search. I pointed out filters on the left for Randomized controlled trials, Clinical trials, Systematic Reviews. I also pointed out starting at topic Special Queries, especially clinical queries at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/clinical