The goals of the library sessions are:
- Learn about How to do Library and Internet research: determine information need, choose best resources, develop a search strategy, understand keyword and subject searching, how to use boolean operators and truncation symbols (often a *), how to cite sources, and more.
- Learn how to use the Library Catalog to find books and journals on your topic. Here is a link to the catalog record for the AMA manual of style: A guide for authors and editors which is available online
- Learn about the link most of our databases offer. I am offering you a link to the recent article in Physical Therapy on Using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to Enhance PubMed Search Strategies for Evidence-Based Practice in Physical Therapy
- Learn about Find Articles - Find Articles & Research Data Physical Therapy http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/physical-therapy
Learn more about PubMed /MEDLINE indexes medical literature-create your own NCBI account, understand the value of MeSH subject heading [http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib]
- PubMed has lots of brief videos to help you learn how to search using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) follow the links at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmed.html
Note: Remember Professor Mathiyakom wants you answer the following questions:
- Perform a PubMed search for evidence about your clinical question. You want to be sure to search for current (within 5 years) and highest level of evidence (i.e., Level 1) for intervention. Please attach the first page of your search results. (2 points)
Answer the following questions about your PubMed Search:
- What are your initial term choices? Why? (2 points)
- Were your key words in the MeSH database? (1 point)
- If not, what keywords did you choose from the MeSH vocabulary instead? (1 point)
- What limits did you select? Why? (2 points)
- What were your search results?
- Number of hits? (1 point)
- Number of articles that looked promising based on their titles? (1 point)
- Assume that you found many promising articles (i.e., 20 articles), what search strategy changes did you need to make? Why? (2 points)
- Assume that you found only a few promising articles, what search strategy changes did you need to make to get more articles? Why? (2 points)
- Try your search with one other database (e.g., PEDro) that you think would best help you answer the question. Please attach the first page of your search results. (2 points)
- Learn about Cochrane Library (Wiley) - Several evidence based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews. Access to full text pdf limited to 1 user at a time.
- Learn how to get articles and books Oviatt Library does NOT own. Register for CSUN's Interlibrary Loan
- Learn about Cited Reference Searching
- Learn how to customize Google Scholar for CSUN Find Text and importing to Endnote Web
Learn more about how to Cite your resources and what Endnote Web, a bibliographer manager software program, can do for you. Sign up for Endnote Web at http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr
- Endnote Web is a Web-based reference management tool that allows you to create a personal database of up to 10,000 references by importing citations from online databases or you can also enter a new reference. You can organize references into folders, and create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.
- Extensive Help is available from Endnote web at http://www.myendnoteweb.com/help/en_us/ENW/help.htm
- Oviatt library offers help at
- learn how to edit or create a new record
- learn how to collect records by importing -always be aware that you should look over the information imported -you may need to correct or improve the record.
- learn about using Endnote web with Microsoft word (this requires you install necessary plugins on your personal computer).
- Endnote web technical support toll free number is 800-336-4474
Several ways to input records into your Endnote Web