Photography as Art: Databases & Search strategies

Developing a Search Strategy

  1. Once you have chosen a topic, write it down in the form of a question or brief statement:
    What was the influence of the Ottoman Empire on the art & architecture in Venice?
  2. Underline the key words and phrases that are most specific to your topic.
    What is the relationship between Ottoman and Venice?
  3. Write down each key word or phrase, and underneath it, list synonyms or related terms.
    Use a dictionary or thesaurus to find additional keywords.  For example:
Ottoman Venice Arts
Turkish Turk  Northern Italy painting architecture sculpture 
  1. Think about the singular, plural, and other endings of words and write down the root of the word.
    Art Architecture  
    arts artists church churches basilica  
  2. Write down your key words and phrases along with their synonyms in the form of a Boolean search statement. Use the root word, and truncate it with an asterisk (*). Note: Different databases use different truncation or wildcard symbols. Check the database's help page. For example:

    (Art or painting or sculpture) and (turk* or ottoman) and (church* basilica)

Scholarly Journals (Peer-Reviewed/Referred)

Peer-reviewed/Referred  Peer Reviewed

 

  • AuCover image for Vol. 17 Issue 4thors are authorities in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
  • Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
  • Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
  • Articles use jargon of the discipline

 

Business of Art

Keyword search terms: art  marketing

Art & reality : the new standard reference guide and business plan for actively developing your career as an artist.
Location: Floor 3 N8600 .A19 1997
Art Business Encyclopedia
Location: Reference Room N8600 .D83 1994
Art Glass Studio Business Plan." Business Plans Handbook. Ed. William H. Harmer and Terrance W. Peck. Vol. 6. Detroit: Gale, 1999. 23-34. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 21 Feb. 2011.
Location: GVRL
Art of selling art
Location: FLOOR3 N8600 .J33 1994
Art office / by Constance Smith & Sue Viders.
Location: Floor3 : N8353 .S635 2007
Art Marketing Handbook for the Fine Artist.
Location: FLOOR3 N6506 F69 1992
Art Marketing Sourcebook for the Fine Artist
Location: Reference Room N58 .A78 1995
Artists & graphic designer's market 2001
Location: FLOOR3 N8600 .A76 2000
Business and Legal Forms for Fine Artists
Location: Reserve KF390 A7 C68 1995
Business of being an artist.
Location: FLOOR3 N8600 .G7 2000
Designing a digital portfolio
Location: FLOOR3 NC1001 .B37 2004
Fine artist's guide to marketing and self-promotion: innovative techniques to build your career as an artist
Location: FLOOR3 N8600 .V57 1996
How to prepare your portfolio: a guide for students and professionals
Location: FLOOR3 N8351 .M37 1994
How to survive and prosper as an artist: selling yourself without selling your soul
Location: FLOOR3 N6505 .M46 2001
Licensing art 101 by Michael Woodward.
Location: Floor 3:N8600 .W66 2007

 

Career Guides in the Arts

Art a Gogo's guide to careers in art history: a career guide for California art history students.
Location: Reserve Books N88 C374 1995
ArtJob Online
Location: Internet
Becoming a graphic designer: a guide to careers in design.
Location: FLOOR3 NC1001 .H45 1999 also available- online |
Career Alternatives for Art Historians
Location: Internet
Jobs and Careers
Location: Internet
Career Opportunities in Art.
Location: FLOOR2 N6505 .H35 1994
Careers in the fashion industry.
Location: FLOOR3 TT507 .G48 1999
College Art Association: Career Development
Location: Internet
Communication Arts: Careers
Location: Internet
Careers in art: an illustrated guide.
FLOOR3 N6505 .B74 1999
Careers in the visual arts : a guide to jobs, money, opportunities, and an artistic life.
Location: FLOOR3 N6505 .I86 1993
Encyclopedia of careers and vocational guidance 4 vol.
Location: Reference Room HF5381 .E52 12th ed. 2003
Fine art as a career [electronic resource]: painter, sculptor, printmaker, portrait of the artist as an intriguing individual.
Location: NetLibrary
Great jobs for the art majors.
Location: FLOOR3 N6505 .C33 2003
Museum Employment Resource Center
Location: Internet
National Resource Guide for the Placement of Artists. Reference Room
Location: NX100 .N38 1992
Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Location: Reference Room HD8051 .A62 (Also on the Web Occupational Outlook Handbook)
See also O*Net Online |
Sculptors' Jobs-
Location: Internet