Psychological Measurement & Instrument Guide: Bibliographies

General Bibliographies

Measures for clinical practice: A sourcebook. By Corcoran, Kevin and Joel Fischer. New York: Free Press, 2007.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: BF176.C66 2000
  • This book describes and actually contains instruments to be used in a clinical setting.

Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures. Goldman, Bert Arthur, and John L. Saunders. New York, NY: Human Sciences Press, 1990.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: BF431 .J29 2001
  • This directory provides references to nonstandardized, experimental measures found in scholarly journals in fields of education, psychology, and sociology.

Dictionary of behavioral assessment techniques. Hersen, Michel, and Alan S. Bellack, eds. Elmsford, NY: Pergamon Press, 1988.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: BF176.5 .D53 1988
  • Not really a "dictionary," but rather an alphabetical list of individual essays of approximately 300 clinical measures.

Tests: A comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business. Maddox, Taddy, ed. Austin, TX: Pro-Ed, 2008.

  • LOCATION:¬†Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: ON ORDER
  • Tests: A Comprehensive Reference...is an encylopedia designed to provide "quick reference" identification of a test to meet a specific need. More than 3,000 psychology, education, and business tools are listed.

A compendium of neuropsychological tests: administration, norms, and commentary. Spreen, Otfired, and Esther Strauss. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2006.

  • LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
  • CALL NUMBER: ON ORDER
  • Initial chapters give overviews of the testing process. This is followed by the major part of the book, which provides thorough descriptions of specific tests, including instructions, source and price, and reliability/validity data.

Subject-related Bibliographies

Handbook of psychiatric measures. American Psychiatric Association. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 2000.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: ON ORDER
  • Compendium of rating scales, tests, and measures that assist in the caring for mentally ill patients. Each tool is described in detail, including the respective reliability, validity, and strength and weakness of each. Supplemental CD-ROM includes complete copies of the 108 measures discussed in the handbook.

Handbook of sexuality-related measures. 2010.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: ON ORDER
  • Source of descriptions (and in many cases, the actual tests/questionnaires) of 224 measurement instruments related to human sexuality.

The achievement test desk reference (ATDR): a guide to learning disability identification. Flanagan, Dawn P., et. al. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2006.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: LB3060.3 .A28 2006
  • This reference book provides extensive information about identification of learning disabilities and contains a section that features descriptions and reviews of more than 50 applicable achievement tests published since 1995.

Handbook of tests and measurement in education and the social sciences. Lester, Paula E., and Lloyd K. Bishop. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press/Technomic Books, 2000.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: LB3051 .L4543 2000 [ON ORDER]
  • Written chiefly for teachers and guidance counselors, this handbook includes descriptions and samples of 120 tests and instruments arranged by 36 topics. The book includes both published and unpublished tools.

Measuring health: a guide to rating scales and questionnaires. McDowell, Ian. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2006.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: RA408.5 .M38 2006
  • Reviews approximately 90 scales, measures, and questionnaires that deal with such health aspects as physical disability, social health, psychological well-being, general health, etc. In many cases the scales are reproduced.

Directory of psychological tests in the sport and exercise sciences. Ostrow, Andrew. Morgantown, WV : Fitness Information Technology, 2002
LOCATION: Reference

  • CALL NUMBER: BF176 .D57 2002 [ON ORDER]
  • Descriptions and source information extensive set of tests and questionnaires that pertain to sports.

Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes. John P. Robinson, Phillip R. Shaver, Lawrence S. Wrightsman ; contributors, Frank M. Andrews ... [et al.], eds. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1991.

  • LOCATION: Reference
  • CALL NUMBER: BF698.4.M38 1990
    These three works provide descriptive information (in many cases including the entire measure or sample items) on experimental attitude measures.