Psychology Research Guide: Articles

Finding Articles

Most Useful

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Indexes over 2,000 journals plus books and book chapters, 1987-present.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
Full text access to peer-reviewed articles from more than 50 journals in psychology, including journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), covering general, specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. 1894-

Also Useful

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from 1,600 journals; provides full-text access to many journals and other sources, 1937-

ERIC (CSA)
Abstracts 775 education journals, ED reports, 1966-

ERIC (EBSCO)
Full text to more than 2,200 digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

General OneFile (Gale)
Indexes over 9,700 journals; full text to over 5,000 journals, 1980-

General Science Full Text (Wilson)
Indexes, abstracts and full text from over 250 periodicals. Indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-

Health Reference Center (Gale)
Indexes over 900 health and allied health journals with full text articles in 686 journals, 1980-

JSTOR
Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences.

PILOTS Database (CSA)
Citations on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress from 1871 to the present.

SpringerLink
Full-text access to over 1,300 academic journals, 1997-

Wiley Interscience
Full-text access to over 300 journals published by Wiley. Coverage varies.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
Cross searching of Art Full Text, Business Full Text, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective, Readers' Guide Full Text, and Social Sciences Full Text; plus Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text.

Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Sources

Know the difference between scholarly and non-scholarly articles.

Good guides provided by:

"Scholarly" journal = "Peer-Reviewed" journal = "Refereed" journal"

To determine if your article is from a scholarly journal:

  • Go to Ulrichsweb (CSUN )
  • Search by the exact title of the journal
  • If it says "Refereed: Yes" then it is a scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal

Empirical vs. Review Articles

Know the difference between empirical and review articles.

Empirical article
An empirical (research) article reports methods and findings of an original research study conducted by the authors of the article.  This is what one looks like.

Review article
A review article discusses a number of past research studies on a given topic.

How to do a Citation Search

What is a cited reference search?

  • When you discover a great article and you want to find other authors who have referred/cited the article you found, you can use a cited reference search.

For example, say you have this article...

Summers, W. K., Martin, R. L., Cunningham, M., DeBoynton, V. L.,  & Marsh, G. M. (2010). Complex antioxidant blend improves memory in community-dwelling seniors. Journal of Alzheimer's Disease, 19, 429-439.

...and you want to find another article by researchers who cited it in their study.

Use either PsycINFO, PsycArticles, and so forth to do cited reference searches.

In PsycINFO

  • Open the PsycINFO database and find the article you have by clicking on the "Cited References" link in the top blue menu bar or;
  • Search for your article within the database and select "Cited References" in the "Citations" section for the article